Various ‎– The History Of The House Sound Of Chicago (...From The Very Beginning...) - The Story Continues

BCM Records ‎– 39138
3 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

Pop Goes The House
A1 Bomb The Bass Beat Dis (Extended Dis)
Performer – Captain Black (3), DJ Kid 33Producer – Tim SimenonProducer, Performer – Emilio PasquezRecorded By – The Planet ControlWritten-By – Bomb The Bass
A2 S-Express* Theme From S-Express
Producer – Pascal GabrielProducer, Arranged By [Strings And Orchestration] – Mark MooreWritten-By – Moore*, Gabriel*
A3 Coldcut Featuring Yazz And The Plastic People* Doctorin' The House
Producer – ColdcutWritten-By – More*, Black*, Yazz
A4 Krush House Arrest (The Beat Is The Law)
Producer, Engineer, Mixed By – Mark BrydonProducer, Engineer, Mixed By, Edited By – Robert GordonWritten-By – Campbell*, Gamble*, Joy*
A5 Yazz And The Plastic Population The Only Way Is Up
Producer – ColdcutWritten-By – Jackson*, Henderson*
B1 Was Not Was* Spy In The House Of Love (Jeffrey B. Young And Dangerous Mix)
Mixed By – Jeff YoungProducer – Paul Staveley O'DuffyWritten-By – David Was, Don Was
B2 Two Men A Drum Machine And A Trumpet* Tired Of Getting Pushed Around
Drum Programming – Derek May*Engineer – Dave AndersonMixed By – MaydayProducer, Written-By – Cox*, Steele*
B3 Penthouse 4 Bust This House Down (The Turnaround Mix)
Producer, Arranged By – Steve WarwickRemix – Les AdamsWritten-By – Warwick*
B4 Cut To Shock Featuring E.F. Cuttin' Put That Record Back On
Featuring – E.F. Cuttin'Mixed By – Tony RodriguezProducer, Engineer, Mixed By – Craig BevanWritten-By – Zeger*, Bevan*
B5 Pop Stars Pop Goes The House
Producer – Rocky Jones
The Acieed Trax
C1 D-Mob* Featuring Gary Haisman We Call It Acieed (The Matey Mix)
Featuring – Gary HaismanProducer, Remix – Danny D*Written-By – D, The*, Gary Haisman
C2 Fast Eddie* Acid Thunder
Producer – Rocky JonesWritten-By – Fast Eddie*, Peter Black
C3 The Nightwriters* Let The Music (Use You)
Engineer – Specs, Tommy WhiteProducer, Mixed By – Frankie KnucklesWritten-By – Alan Walker, Henry Watson
C4 Swan Lake In The Name Of Love (Club Mix)
Engineer – Tony D.Percussion – Tito*Producer, Mixed By, Edited By, Written-By – Todd Terry
C5 Tyree* Acid Over (Tyree's Mix)
Mixed By – Joe Smooth, Rocky JonesProducer, Mixed By, Written-By – Tyree*
D1 Jolly Roger Acid Man (Original Mix)
Producer, Arranged By, Mixed By, Written-By – Eddie Richards
D2 Baby Ford Oochy Koochy (F.U. Baby Yeh Yeh) (Konrad Cadet Mix)
Mixed By – SlappermixProducer, Programmed By [Additional Keyboard], Written-By – Mr. Salt*Producer, Remix, Written-By – Baby FordRemix – Mark McGuire
D3 Royal House Can You Party (Todd Terry's B-Boy Remix)
Arranged By – Tony D.Executive-Producer – Prosic Music Inc., Thomas AshleyProducer, Remix, Written-By – Todd Terry
D4 Bam Bam Give It To Me
Producer – Chris "Bam Bam" Westbrook*Vocals [Female] – Chrystal Neely*Written-By – Bam Bam
D5 Adonis And The Endless Poker* The Poke
Producer, Written-By – Adonis
The Future - Deep House And More
E1 Inner City Featuring Kevin Saunderson Big Fun
Featuring, Producer – Kevin SaundersonKeyboards [Additional] – Mike StevensMixed By – Magic Juan*Remix, Producer [Additional] – Les AdamsVocals – Paris*Written-By – Forest*, Pennington*, Saunderson*
E2 Phase II Reachin (Brotherhood Mix)
Edited By – The Black Rascals*Engineer – E. Lotwis*, G. Louvis*, K. Hedge*, O. Vic*Producer – Phase IIProducer, Mixed By – BlazeWritten-By – C. Herbert*, J. Edwards*, J. Milan*, K. Hedge*, V. Herbert*
E3 The Bighouse Featuring Shampel "C" With D.J. Mack Get Off That Wall (Vocal)
Featuring – Shampel "C"Featuring [With] – D.J. MackProducer – Brett Edgar, Carl WhiteWritten By – JacksonWritten-By – Edgar*, White*
E4 Jungle Brothers I'll House You
Executive Producer – Tony D.Mixed By – Andre Debourg, Red AlertProducer – Michael Small (2), Nathaniel HallWritten-By – Small*, Hall*
E5 Paul Rutherford Get Real (Happy House Mix)
Engineer – Mark StentProducer – B.M. White*, M. Fry*Written-By – Clayton*, White*, Fry*, Rutherford*
F1 Kraze The Party
Mixed By, Engineer – Mike Constanzo*Producer, Mixed By – Craig KallmanProducer, Written-By – Reesha
F2 Fingers Inc. Featuring Chuck Roberts Can You Feel It
Featuring – Chuck RobertsMixed By – Richards*, Wilkinson*, SextonProducer – Fingers Inc.Written-By – Roberts*, Heard*
F3 Jamie Principle Baby Wants To Ride (Club Mix)
Producer – Jamie Principle, Larry Sturm, Philip Balsano*Remix – Steve "Silk" HurleyWritten-By – Jamie Principle
F4 Bam Bam Where Is Your Child?
Producer, Written-By – Bam Bam
F5 The Todd Terry Project Weekend
Edited By – Chep "Just Wanna Edit" Nunez*Producer, Mixed By, Written-By – Todd Terry

Companies, etc.



The combination of this 3-LP-Set and the original 12-LP-Box represents the complete record edition of "The History Of The House Sound Of Chicago".

Track B5 credited featuring:
Bomb The Bass - Beat Dis
Krush - House Arrest (Campbell, Gamble, Joy)
The Beatmasters - Rock Da House (Glanfield, Carter, Walmsley, Pryce)
Coldcut - Doctorin' The House (More, Black, Jazz)
Marshall Jefferson - Move Your Body (Virgo)
Nitro Deluxe - This Brutal House (Scretching, Marin)
Steve "Silk" Hurley - Jack Your Body (Hurley)
2 Men A Drum Machine And A Trumpet - I'm Tired Of Getting Pushed Around (Steele, Cox)
Jack 'N' Chill - The Jack That House Built (Stratton, Naslas).

With liner notes sheet.

This Compilation: 1988 BCM Records / Printed in Western Germany

D4 is listed as Club Mix
E2 is listed as Latin Workout Mix
F5 incorrectly is listed as "Just Wanna Dance" on the release; it is actually the B-side, "Weekend".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 4 005934 391381
  • Barcode: 4005934391381
  • Label Code: LC 8116
  • Other (Cat# record 1): BCM 39138/1
  • Other (Cat# record 2): BCM 39138/2
  • Other (Cat# record 3): BCM 39138/3



Add Review



April 30, 2019
A good way to get some classics (Beat Dis, S-Express, D-Mob, Nightwriters, Acid Over, Inner City, Can You Feel It vocal, Baby Wants To Ride, Weekend) to spin on wax if you don't want to break the bank too much. You'll have to turn up your gain a ton though because it's over 50 minutes a LP.