Various ‎– The Late Great Daniel Johnston: Discovered Covered

Rogue Records ‎– R6308CD
CD, Compilation
CD, Compilation, Enhanced

Tracklist Hide Credits

Disk 1 / The Covers
1-01 Teenage Fanclub with Jad Fair My Life Is Starting Over Again
Bass – Gerard LoveDrums – Francis MacdonaldGuitar – Raymond McGinleyOrgan – Norman BlakeProducer – Duncan Cameron (2)Vocals – Jad Fair
1-02 Clem Snide Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Your Grievience
Bass – Brendan FitzgeraldDrums – Eric PaulEngineer – Suzanne Kappa*Guitar – Eef Barzelay, Pete FitzpatrickProducer – Joe Chiccarrelli*Vocals – Eef Barzelay
1-03 Gordon Gano Impossible Love
Bass – Ron DumontDrums – Brad MehlenbacherEngineer – John ShyloskiGuitar [Slide], Backing Vocals – Billy RyanLead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Guitar [Electric], Violin, Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Gordon GanoProducer – Gordon Gano, Warren Bruleigh
1-04 Eels Living Life
Producer – E (4)Recorded By – K.G. Murder*
1-05 T.V. On The Radio* Walking The Cow
Performer [Music] – David Andrew SitekProducer – David Andrew Sitek, T.V. On The Radio*Vocals – Tunde Adebimpe*
1-06 The Rabbit Good Morning You
Electronic Drums [Drum Machine], Guitar, Bass – Matt Linkous*Producer – The RabbitSampler – Matt Linkous*, Melissa MooreVoice – Melissa Moore
1-07 Calvin Johnston* Sorry Entertainer
Producer, Performer – Calvin Johnston*
1-08 Bright Eyes Devil Town
Acoustic Guitar – Conor OberstDrums, Organ, Vocals – Maria TaylorMixed By, Guitar – Nick Zinner
1-09 Death Cab For Cutie Dream Scream
Bass, Synthesizer [Korg] – Nicholas HarmerDrums – Jason McGerrGuitar [Feedback, Outro, Varispeed], Effects [Exploding Springs] – Christopher Walla*Mixed By – Troy TietjenProducer – Chris WallaVocals, Guitar [Feedback], Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Melodica, Whistle – Benjamin Gibbard*
1-10 Beck True Love Will Find You In The End
Performer – Beck
1-11 Sparklehorse with The Flaming Lips Go
Bass – Michael IvinsGuitar – Steven DrozdRecorded By – Dave Fridmann, Mark LinkousSampler – Scott MinorSampler, Glockenspiel, Electronic Drums [Drum Machine], Synthesizer [Juno] – Mark LinkousSynthesizer [Super Synth] – Dave FridmannVocals – Mark Linkous, Michael Ivins, Steven Drozd, Wayne Coyne
1-12 Mercury Rev Blue Clouds
Arranged By – Mercury RevBacking Vocals – Carlos Anthony Molina, Dr. Grasshopper*, Jeff MercelDrums, Mellotron – Jeff MercelGuitar – Dr. Grasshopper*Piano, Bass – Carlos Anthony MolinaProducer – Kevin Salem, Mercury RevVocals, Acoustic Guitar – Jonathan Donahue
1-13 Thistle (2) Love Not Dead
Bass – Matt CohenDrums – Prairie PrinceGuitar, Vocals – Astor (2)Mixed By [Guitar Edits] – Astor (2), Jerry Harrison, Matt CohenProducer – Jerry HarrisonRecorded By [Drums] – Karl DerflerRecorded By [Other Parts] – Matt Cohen
1-14 Vic Chesnutt Like A Monkey In The Zoo
Producer, Recorded By, Mixed By, Vocals, Performer [Instruments], Acoustic Guitar [Classical], Guitar [Electric], Drums [Kick Drum-snare-cymbal Set] , Synthesizer [Roland Synth Bass] – Vic Chesnutt
1-15 Starlight Mints Dead Lovers Twisted Heart
Guitar, Vocals, Electronic Drums [Drum Machine], Strings, Computer – Allan VestProducer, Mixed By – Robbie Egle
1-16 M. Ward Story Of An Artist
Producer, Arranged By, Performer [All Sounds] – M. Ward
1-17 Guster The Sun Shines Down On Me
Drums – Brian RosenworcelEngineer – Don PiperGuitar, Bass, Backing Vocals – Joe PisapiaProducer – GusterVocals, Piano, Keyboards – Ryan Miller (2)
1-18 Tom Waits King Kong
Engineer – Jordan N. Trachtenberg, Michael McCoyEngineer [Assistant] – Heath AikenGuitar – Marc RibotPercussion – Mark LinkousProducer – Tom WaitsVoice [Mouth Percussion] – Tom Waits
Disk 2 / The Originals
2-01 Daniel Johnston My Life Is Starting Over Again 2:05
2-02 Daniel Johnston Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Your Grievience 3:18
2-03 Daniel Johnston Impossible Love 2:55
2-04 Daniel Johnston Living Life 2:38
2-05 Daniel Johnston Walking The Cow 3:34
2-06 Daniel Johnston Good Morning You 1:12
2-07 Daniel Johnston Sorry Entertainer 2:17
2-08 Daniel Johnston Devil Town 1:02
2-09 Daniel Johnston Dream Scream 4:49
2-10 Daniel Johnston True Love Will Find You In The End 1:45
2-11 Daniel Johnston Go 3:47
2-12 Daniel Johnston Blue Clouds 3:21
2-13 Daniel Johnston Love Not Dead 4:07
2-14 Daniel Johnston Like A Monkey In The Zoo 2:40
2-15 Daniel Johnston Dead Lovers Twisted Heart 1:13
2-16 Daniel Johnston Story Of An Artist 4:56
2-17 Daniel Johnston The Sun Shines Down On Me 2:00
2-18 Daniel Johnston King Kong 5:42
2-19 Daniel Johnston Rock This Town 6:14
Video Daniel Johnston Rock This Town
Other [Co-director] – Greg Gilpatrick, Tom ShirleyOther [Video Producer] – Mark Miller



Disc 1 contains covers of Daniel Johnston songs by some of his biggest admirers and fans; Disc 2 contains the original versions of the songs as well as the previously unreleased track "Rock This Town". Disc 2 also contains an enhanced portion with song lyrics, drawings by Daniel Johnston, and an animated music video for "Rock This Town" by directors Greg Gilpatrick and Tom Shirley.
Booklet contains liner notes by Everett True, and interview with Daniel Johnston conducted by Everett True, and quotes by each musician regarding the covers they chose.

In double-disc jewel case.
This version (R6308CD) is marketed and distributed exclusively in Australia and New Zealand, under license from Gammon Records.

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All