Various ‎– The Leiber & Stoller Story, Volume One: Hard Times - The Los Angeles Years 1951-56

Ace ‎– CDCHD 1010
CD, Compilation


1 Bobby Nunn & The Robbins* That's What The Good Book Says
2 Charles Brown Hard Times
3 Bull Moose Jackson Nosey Joe
4 Amos Milburn Flying Home
5 Roy Hawkins Gloom And Misery All Around
6 The Du Droppers Bambalam
7 Jimmy Witherspoon Real Ugly Woman
8 Little Esther Mainliner
9 Little Willie Littlefield Kansas City a.k.a. K C Lovin'
10 Little Mickey Champion* Lovin' Jim
11 Sam "Highpockets" Henderson Too Bad Sweet Mama
12 The Robins Ten Days In Jail
13 Milt Trenier Squeeze Me
14 Big Mama Thornton I Smell A Rat
15 Joe Liggins Yeah, Yeah, Yeah
16 Willy & Ruth Come A Little Bit Closer
17 The Honey Bears (2) It's A Miracle
18 The Cheers Bazoom (I Need Your Lovin')
19 Vicki Young (2) Riot In Cell Block #9
20 Freddie Bell & The Bell Boys Hound Dog
21 Jack Cardwell Whadaya Want
22 Ella Mae Morse Down In Mexico
23 Young Jessie Hot Dog
24 Larry Evans (2) What About Me
25 Etta James Tears Of Joy
26 The Drifters Ruby Baby
27 Frankie Marshall (2) If It's The Last Thing I Do
28 Edith Piaf L'Homme A La Moto (Black Denim Trousers And Motorcycle Boots)

Companies, etc.



Compiled By Mick Patrick and Tony Rounce with thanks to Mike Stoller.

Track 1 is a previously unissued alternate take.

Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 29667 00202 8
  • Rights Society: mcps
  • Label Code: LC 05982
  • Matrix / Runout: CDCHD1010