Various ‎– The Rebirth Of Cool

4th & Broadway ‎– 262 861
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

01 Dream Warriors & Gang Starr I've Lost My Ignorance (And Don't Know Where To Find It) (Tim Bran Remix)
Remix – Tim Bran
02 X-Clan Raise The Flag 4:00
03 Manu Dibango & MC Mell'O' Senga Abele (Lion Roar) 7:13
04 Ronny Jordan Cool And Funky 4:59
05 Mica Paris I Should've Known Better 5:03
06 Galliano Welcome To The Story (Peace Go With You Mix)
Remix – Chewbacker Senior, Gilles Peterson, The Headcorn
07 Noel McKoy Family 5:09
08 Lalomie Washburn Try My Love 4:45
09 Outlaw Kickin' Jazz
Mixed By – Patrick Forge, Simon Richmond
10 Young Disciples Step Right On (Vocal Dub Mix)
Mixed By – Sir Demus*
11 Skatemaster Tate Joe's Jam 5:57
12 Laquan Witness The Drift 4:43
13 Young MC I Come Off (Southern Comfort Mix)
Remix – CJ Mackintosh, Dave Dorrell
14 Dodge City Productions The Slow Jam 6:13


By definition a jazz trip.

Other Versions (5 of 10) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BRLP 563 Various The Rebirth Of Cool(LP, Comp) 4th & Broadway BRLP 563 UK 1991 Sell This Version
TRIPCD 1601 Various The Rebirth Of Cool(CD, Comp) Outland Records (3) TRIPCD 1601 Belgium 1991 Sell This Version
BRCD 563, 848 480-2 Various The Rebirth Of Cool(CD, Comp) 4th & Broadway, Island Records BRCD 563, 848 480-2 UK & Europe 1991 Sell This Version
PHCR-1713 Various The Rebirth Of Cool(CD, Comp) 4th & Broadway PHCR-1713 Japan 1992 Sell This Version
314 512 238-2 Various The Rebirth Of Cool(CD, Comp) 4th & Broadway 314 512 238-2 Canada 1992 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 19, 2003
The Rebirth Of Cool was at the time when it was released a very fresh series. Now, it is History.
It is relatively easy to make good compilation albums in retrospect and for that Mastercuts is a great example. The people behind the Rebirth Of Cool series were completely aware that they were contributing for the defenition of something and in a way shaping it by contextualizing the music. "The nineties will be the decade of a jazz thing, welcome to the story so far..." so starts the introduction of the first volume. Notice a certain assertiveness? Well, all seven volumes (and particularly the first three) have that quality, they almost feel like statements.
This is not a tedious series in any way. The tracks were carefully chosen and they really cover some of the most interesting scenes of the early nineties.


March 25, 2003

Rebirth of Cool is a very well picked & stylish collection of acid jazz/ jazzdance/ hip hop at first, expanding into trip hop, latin grooves, trip hop & jungle on later releases. Most tracks compiled by dj Patrick Forge of Da Lata fame. The original uk series span 7 volumes from 1991 to 1998.
There are considerable differences between the uk & us versions. The uk catalogue nrs always start with: brcd (cd) or brlp (vinyl).
This canadian release (probaply usa too) is a bit of a mishmash of the firts 2 uk volumes. The following usa versions 2 & 3 are actually stripped down versions of uk volumes 3 & 4.
To make things worse there are also different french releases (rebirth TWO instead of TOO) & there are a few other tracks on some of the vinyl releases.
All volumes are worthwhile additions to the genre, but
depending on your degree of addiction it's either a collectors dream or nightmare!