Various ‎– The Roots Of America's Music

Arhoolie Records ‎– 2001/2002
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

Country Blues
A1 Fred McDowell Shake Em On Down
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Fred McDowell
A2 Mance Lipscomb Sugar Babe
Recorded By – Chris Strachwitz, Mack McCormickVocals, Guitar – Mance Lipscomb
A3 Black Ace New Triflin' Woman
Recorded By – Chris Strachwitz, Paul OliverVocals, Steel Guitar – Black Ace
A4 Alex Moore July Boogie
Recorded By – Chris Strachwitz, Paul OliverVocals, Piano – Alex Moore
A5 Big Joe Williams Greystone Blues
Recorded By – Chris Strachwitz, Richard GarvinVocals, Guitar [Nine String] – Big Joe Williams
A6 Lil Son Jackson* Roberta
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Lil Son Jackson*
A7 John Jackson (4) Going Down In Georgia On A Horn
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – John Jackson (4)
A8 Guitar Slim & Jelly Belly (4) No More Hard Times
Guitar, Vocals – Alec Seward, Fat Boy Hayes*
A9 Lowell Fulson River Blues
Rhythm Guitar – Martin FulsonVocals, Guitar – Lowell Fulson
City Blues
B1 Mercy Dee* Walked Down So Many Turnrows
Drums – Otis CherryGuitar – K.C. DouglasHarmonica – Sidney MaidenRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Piano – Mercy Dee*
B2 Juke Boy Bonner Going Back To The Country
Recorded By – Bill HolfordVocals, Harmonica, Guitar – Juke Boy Bonner
B3 Lightning Hopkins* Tom Moore Blues
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Lightning Hopkins*
B4 Big Mama Thornton Unlucky Girl
Bass – Jimmy Robinson*Drums – Fred BelowGuitar – Buddy GuyHarmonica – Big Walter Horton*Piano, Organ – Eddie BoydRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals – Big Mama Thornton
B5 Clifton Chenier Louisiana Blues
Drums – Madison GuidryRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Accordion – Clifton ChenierWashboard [Rubboard] – Cleveland Chenier
B6 Larry Williams (3) I Know You Hear Me Calling
Guitar – Curley CormierOrgan – Piano SlimRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Larry Williams (3)
B7 Johnny Young (3) Wild Wild Woman
Bass – Jimmy Lee MorrisDrums – S.P. LearyHarmonica – James CottonPiano – Otis SpannRecorded By – Pete WeldingVocals, Guitar – Johnny Young (3)
Gospel & Jazz
C1 Bukka White Jesus Died On The Cross To Save The World
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Bukka White
C2 Jesse Fuller Amazing Grace
Guitar – Jesse FullerRecorded By – Norman Pierce, Tom Spinosa
C3 Rev. Overstreet* I'm A Soldier In The Army Of The Lord
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Rev. Overstreet*
C4 Robert Shaw (5) The Ma Grinder
Piano [Solo] – Robert Shaw (5)Recorded By – Mack McCormick
C5 Kid Thomas* Eh La Bas
Banjo, Vocals – George Guesnon*Bass – Alcide "Slow Drag" Pavageau*Drums – Sammy PennPiano – Joe James (2)Recorded By – Mike SlatterTenor Saxophone – Manuel Paul*Trombone – Louis Nelson (2)Trumpet – Kid Thomas (Valentine)*
C6 Joe Turner* Old Piney Brown's Gone
Alto Saxophone – Frank SleetBaritone Saxophone – Milburn NewmanBass – Addison FarmerDrums – Robert BradyPiano – Pete JohnsonTenor Saxophone – Pete Peterson (5)Trumpet – Art Farmer, James RossVocals – Joe Turner*
C7 Luna (19) Nisaba In The Grass
Alto Saxophone – Mike Vannice (2), Tom KoosisBass – Bill HannafordClarinet [Bass] – Pat WallaceDrums – Ellsworth JohnsonFlute – Gabriel SternPiano – Lee CronbachTenor Saxophone – Ed Epstein (2)Violin – Harvey P. Warren
Country, Cajun, & Folk
D1 J.E. Mainer's Mountaineers Run Mountain
Banjo – Glenn MainerBass – Earl Cheeks*Guitar – Carolyn Mainer WilsonMandolin – Otis OvercashRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Fiddle – J.E. Mainer*Vocals, Guitar – J.E., Jr.*
D2 Del McCoury Dreams
Banjo, Vocals – Bill EmersonBass – Dewey RenfroFiddle – Billy Baker (3)Mandolin, Vocals – Wayne YatesRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Del McCoury
D3 The Hodges Brothers Carroll County Blues
Bass – John White (7)Fiddle – Felix HodgesGuitar – James Hodges (2)Mandolin – Ralph HodgesRecorded By – Chris Strachwitz
D4 Luderin Darbone Crowley Waltz
Bass – Edwin DuhonFiddle – Luderin DarboneGuitar, Vocals – Lennis SonnierRecorded By – Chris Strachwitz
D5 Nathan Abshire Cajun Two Step
Accordion, Vocals – Nathan AbshireFiddle – Dewey BalfaGuitar – Rodney BalfaRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzTriangle – Basile Marcentel
D6 Alice Stuart Once I Had A Sweetheart
Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Alice Stuart
D7 Crabgrass Charles Giteau
Fiddle – Art KochHarmonica – Steve TalbotMandolin – Pete BergRecorded By – Chris StrachwitzVocals, Guitar – Dave Fredrickson, Toni Brown
D8 James Campbell* Baby Please Don't Go
Fiddle – Beauford ClayOther [Banging Fiddle Bow On Tuba] – Bell RayPerformer – James Campbell & His Nashville Street Band*Recorded By – Chris StrachwitzTrumpet – George Bell (4)Tuba – Ralph Robinson (3)Vocals, Guitar – James Campbell*

Companies, etc.



Different front cover: below the title on the right "Volume I" and on the bottom right corner "2 records for the price of one".

Inner gatefold sleeve has an essay on the changes in American popular music in recent years (up to august 1968) by Pete Welding. Plus extensive information on all musicians featured.

©1968 by Arhoolie Records

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All