Various ‎– The Search For Animal Chin

Kanine Records ‎– KR191
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Yellow


A1 Powell Peralta Ripper Animation
A2 The "A" And "B" Team Chin Theme
A3 Powell Peralta Weekend Today Skit
A4 The "A" And "B" Team Chin Missing Theme
A5 Powell Peralta Chin Newscaster
A6 The "A" And "B" Team Hardcore Skaters Mourned
A7 The "A" And "B" Team Wallows
A8 The "A" And "B" Team Waikiki
A9 Bones Brigade (4) Deal A Meal Skit
A10 Bones Brigade (4) Chopsticks
A11 Bones Brigade (4) Maps To The Skaters Homes
A12 The "A" And "B" Team Chinatown Session
A13 The "A" And "B" Team SF Schoolyard
A14 The "A" And "B" Team Golden Gate Park
A15 Bones Brigade (4) Milk Carton Skit
A16 The "A" And "B" Team SF Downhill Session
B1 Bones Brigade (4) Desert
B2 The "A" And "B" Team Bakersfield Suburbs
B3 Bones Brigade (4) Bakersfield Ramp
B4 The "A" And "B" Team Bakersfield Ramp Session
B5 Bones Brigade (4) Underhill Skit
B6 The "A" And "B" Team Borst
B7 Bones Brigade (4) Lance Skit
B8 The "A" And "B" Team 711's
B9 Bones Brigade (4) Pink Motel Intro
B10 The "A" And "B" Team Pink Motel Session
B11 Bones Brigade (4) Pink Motel Room Skit
B12 The "A" And "B" Team Nightmares
C1 The "A" And "B" Team Calisthenics
C2 Bones Brigade (4) Cadillac Skit
C3 Bones Brigade (4) Chin Ramp
C4 The "A" And "B" Team Sleep Driving
C5 Bones Brigade (4), Johnny Rad Blue Tile Lounge Intro
C6 Johnny Rad Johnny Rad Raddy Daddy
C7 Johnny Rad Johnny Rad Skateboard Shuffle
C8 Bones Brigade (4), Johnny Rad Blue Tile Lounge Outro
C9 The "A" And "B" Team Desert Skating
C10 Bones Brigade (4) Chin Monolith
D1 The "A" And "B" Team Skating To Chin Ramp
D2 The "A" And "B" Team Chin Ramp Session #1
D3 The "A" And "B" Team Chin Ramp Session #2
D4 The "A" And "B" Team Chin Ramp Session #3
D5 Bones Brigade (4) Tunnel In The Ramp
D6 The "A" And "B" Team Chin Ramp Slo-mo
D7 Bones Brigade (4) Campfire Skit
D8 The "A" And "B" Team Credits
D9 Powell Peralta TV Repairman Skit

Companies, etc.


Record store day 2018 release.
Limited to 1,600 copies pressed on solid yellow vinyl in gatefold sleeve.

Includes 12" x 24" fold-out poster and download card for movie and soundtrack*.

*Soundtrack: .mp3 format (320kbps). Movie: .mov format (320x240 / 1hr:05mins:20sec).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 27175 01911 4
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): S-101708 KR191 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): KR191 B S-101709
  • Matrix / Runout (Sice C): S-101710 KR191 C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): KR191 D S-101711


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



June 22, 2018
Kind of hard to recommend, since the audio is just taken directly from the video. Skateboarding, dialog and sound effects are all over the music - not exactly what I expected since this was touted as "newly remastered." This is more like a high quality bootleg. Fun if you like skateboarding, and you get a download of the movie and an Animal Chin poster - but if you just want the music, steer clear.


May 2, 2018
From the description it seemed this would have been music from the video with some skits thrown in for good measure. However the music was taken right from the movie with the sounds of shred and all ; so you dont get the full versions of the songs in some cases. Which is ok cause it still is good and its like listening to one of those old children's film records were you go through the movie with a picture book and there is someone narrating it. Toward the end Johnny Rad starts doing just that (minus the picture book ). Also included is a full download of the soundtrack and video , along with a nice gate-fold sleeve full of pictures from that time period as well as a nice sized 'Have You Seen Him' poster. Well worth the $24 that was paid for it. If your a skateboarder ; especially from that time period this is an extra fun release.


April 24, 2018
So happy about this! I don't care if it's audio ripped from the movie. It's fun!! Gotta break out my Per Welinder street board and COMB MY HAIR!


April 21, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
I downloaded the mp3s before listening to the records. The audio is literally the audio from the release including all dialog and sound effects but just broken up to tracks. I was more expecting the individual songs on their own with no movie sounds. The gatefold and poster are a nice touch and the dropcard has the "Have you seen Him" poster design on one side.
Overall it's a decent release and lets face it, Powell was never known for their soundtracks. That was more a Santa Cruz specialty!


April 21, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
Yikes. Just a forewarning: This sounds like it was just audio taken from the movie and pressed onto vinyl. There is no isolated music. If you heard a skateboard noise in the movie, you hear it on this vinyl.

Kinda sucks because some of this music would've been nice to have without the background sounds of the movie in it.
So, apparently there was the normal RSD release info on this and then there was info released by the label/bones/powell saying how it was kind of a joke: "Now you can re-experience The Search For Animal Chin, but from a record player. "

This text was no where to be found on the RSD18 page for this release. RSD page makes it sound like it would be a normal Soundtrack you'd get from any movie..