Various ‎– The Story Of Great Music: Prelude To Modern Music

Time Life Records ‎– TL 147
4 × Vinyl, LP, Mono, Compilation
Box Set

Tracklist Hide Credits

A Rogue, Swirling Harp
A1 "Till Eulenspiegels Lustige Streiche," Op. 28
Conductor – Lorin Maazel
A2 Introduction And Allegro
Cello – Robert BexClarinet – André BoutardFlute – Fernand CaratgéHarp – Annie ChallanViola – Colette LequienViolin – Georges Tessier, Pierre Simon
Comedy For Music
"Der Rosenkavalier"
B1 Act 2, Presentation Of The Silver Rose
B2 Act 2, Finale
B3 Act 3, Trio And Duet
. . . And Heaven Through A Child's Eye
Symphony No. 4 In G Major
C1 First Movement: Heiter, Bedachtig. Nichet Eilen
C2 Second Movement: In Germachlicher Bewegung
D1 Third Movement: Ruhevoll
D2 Fourth Movement: Sehr Behaglich
A Symphony Of The Sea
"La Mer"
E1 De L'aube A Midi Sur La Mer
E2 Jeux De Vagues
E3 Dialogue Du Vent Et De La Mer
The Tragic Love Of Mimi And Rodolfo
F1 "La Boheme": Act 3
Baritone Vocals – Mario SereniBass Vocals – Giuseppe Giuliano, Mario RinaudoChorus – Chorus Of The Opera House, Rome*Chorus Master – Gianni LazzariComposed By – Giacomo PucciniConductor – Thomas SchippersOrchestra – Orchestra Of The Opera House, Rome*Soprano Vocals – Mariella Adani, Mirella FreniTenor Vocals – Nicolai Gedda
Three Masters Of The Piano
G1 Preludes In G Minor, Op. 23, No. 5; G Major, Op. 32 No. 5; G Sharp Minor, Op. 32 No. 12
Composed By – Sergei Rachmaninoff*Piano – John Ogdon
G2 "Jeux D'eau"
G3 Preludes (From Book 1) No. 8: La Fille Aux Cheveux De Lin No. 10: La Cathedrale Engloutie No. 11: La Danse De Puck No. 12: Minstrels
A Horn Of Magic, "A Vast Musical Fresco"
H1 Songs From "Des Knaben Wunerhorn" Revelge Wer Hat Dies Liedlein Erdacht? Lob Des Hohen Verstandes
Baritone Vocals – Geraint EvansConductor – Wyn MorrisMezzo-soprano Vocals – Janet BakerOrchestra – The London Philharmonic Orchestra
H2 "Daphnis Et Chloe": Suite No. 2



Release contains 60-page booklet with an overview of the artists, music, and time during which music was created. Also contains 24-page "Listener's Guide" talking specifically about each track.