Various ‎– The Story That The Crow Told Me, Vol. 1

Yazoo ‎– 2051
CD, Compilation, Remastered


1 Homer Brierhopper I Am Just What I Am
2 Three Georgia Crackers Poor Little Thing Cried Mammy
3 Bill Carlisle Barnyard Tumble
4 Clayton McMichen & Riley Puckett Old Molly Hare
5 Four Wanderers Animals Coming In
6 Cousin Emmy Johnny Booker
7 Pickard Family* The Old Grey Goose Is Dead
8 Bradley Kincaid Pretty Little Pink
9 Dykes Magic City Trio Free Little Bird
10 Chubby Parker King Kong Kitchie Kitchie Ki-me-o
11 Fisher Hendley & His Aristocratic Pigs Hop Along Peter
12 Lew Childre Horsie Keep Your Tail Up
13 Ridgel's Fountain Citians The Nick Nack Song
14 Carolina Buddies The Story That The Crow Told Me
15 Bo Carter Sue Cow
16 Uncle Eck Dunford Skip To Ma Lou, My Darling
17 Gene Austin Cindy
18 Virginia Mountain Boomers Say Darling Say
19 Bradley Kincaid Liza Up In The Simmon Tree
20 Dixie Crackers The Old Bell Cow
21 Pope's Arkansas Mountaineers George Washington
22 Fruit Jar Guzzlers Sourwood Mountain
23 Utica Institute Jubilee Singers Angels Watching Over Me



Early American Rural Children's Songs
Classic Recordings from the 1920s and 30s

This compact disc was compiled from extremely rare old 78s, which have been remastered to produced the best possible sound. However, the listener is advised to approach this CD in its historical perspective realizing that there are some imperfections and noise in the original recordings. These should be viewed as being of minor consequence in view of the considerable musical and historical importance of this project.

Original recordings are from the collections of Richard Nevins, Joe Bussard, Frank Mare, Dave Freeman, Eugene Earle and Don Kent.

℗ 2000 YAZOO, a division of Shanachie Entertainment Corp.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 016351205124
  • Matrix / Runout: 34858AD-01B YAZ- 051 001102- 4 21E2-0620