Various ‎– The Story That The Crow Told Me, Vol. 2

Yazoo ‎– 2052
CD, Compilation, Remastered


1 Bill Carlisle Little Honey Bee
2 Lake Howard Chewing Chewing Gum
3 Anna* And Julietta Canova The Frog Went A-Courtin
4 Skillet Lickers Devilish Mary
5 Kelly Harrell Charley, He's A Good Old Man
6 Jack Reedy & His Walker Mountain String Band Groundhog
7 A. A. Gray & Seven Foot Dilly* The Old Ark's A Moving
8 Henry Thomas The Little Red Caboose
9 Carolina Tar Heels* Somebody's Tall And Handsome
10 Bucklebusters* Chuck Old Hen
11 McGee Brothers* & Todd* Charming Bill
12 Prairie Ramblers* Beaver Creek
13 Bradley Kincaid A Paper Of Pins
14 Ford & Grace Kiss Me Cindy
15 Leroy Carr Carried Water For The Elephant
16 Arthur Smith Trio Pig At Home In The Pen
17 Chubby Parker Get Away Old Maids Get Away
18 North Carolina Cooper Boys Daniel In The Den Of Lions
19 Bradley Kincaid Sourwood Mountain
20 Leake County Revelers* Molly Put The Kettle On
21 Joe Reed Family Little David Play On Your Harp
22 Land Norris I Love Somebody
23 Vernon Dalhart Jesus Loves Me



Early American Rural Children's Songs
Classic Recordings from the 1920s and 30s

Front cover: C. 1895, courtesy of Jim Bollman

This compact disc was compiled from extremely rare old 78s, which have been remastered to produced the best possible sound. However, the listener is advised to approach this CD in its historical perspective realizing that there are some imperfections and noise in the original recordings. These should be viewed as being of minor consequence in view of the considerable musical and historical importance of this project.

Original recordings are from the collections of Richard Nevins, Joe Bussard, Frank Mare, Dave Freeman, Eugene Earle and Don Kent.

℗ 2000 YAZOO, a division of Shanachie Entertainment Corp.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 016351205223
  • Matrix / Runout: 34859AD-03B YAZ-2052 001502-08 21E2-1117