Various ‎– The Trojan Story

Trojan Records ‎– TALL 100
3 × Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Mono
Box Set, Compilation


A1 Laurel Aitken & The Carib Beats Bartender
A2 Derrick Morgan Fat Man
A3 Eric "Monty" Morris & Drumbago All Stars Humpty Dumpty
A4 Jimmy Cliff Miss Jamaica
A5 Derrick And Patsy Housewives' Choice
A6 Jackie Edwards Tell Me Darling
A7 Kentrick Patrick Don't Stay Out Late
A8 Stranger Cole & The Duke Reid Band* Rough And Tough
B1 Kentrick Patrick Man To Man
B2 Stranger Cole Unos-Dos-Tres
B3 The Skatalites Confucius
B4 The Mellow Larks Time To Pray (Alleluia)
B5 The Blues Busters Soon You'll Be Gone
B6 Lord Tanamo I'm In The Mood For Ska
B7 The Riots Yeah Yeah
B8 Don Drummond Man In The Street
C1 Baba Brooks & The Baba Brooks Band One Eyed Giant
C2 Honey Boy Martin & Tommy McCook & The Supersonics & The Voices (6) Dreader Than Dread
C3 Owen Gray Darling Patricia
C4 Joe White and Chuck & The Baba Brooks Band Every Night
C5 The Astronauts Syncopate
C6 The Clarendonians Rules Of Life
C7 Slim Smith The New Boss
C8 Winston & George Keep The Pressure On
D1 Roy Shirley Musical Train
D2 The Techniques Oh Babe
D3 Sir Lord Comic The Great Wuga Wuga
D4 Dandy Livingstone Rudy A Message To You
D5 The Ethiopians Train To Skaville
D6 The Three Tops It's Raining
D7 The Ethiopians The Whip
D8 Desmond Dekker & The Aces Pretty Africa
E1 Alton Ellis Rock Steady
E2 Baba Brooks & The Baba Brooks Band King Size
E3 Evan And Jerry* & The Carib Beats Rock Steady Train
E4 Sugar Simone King Without A Throne
E5 Phyllis Dillon & Tommy McCook & The Supersonics Perfidia
E6 Derrick Morgan Do The Beng Beng
E7 Lynn Taitt Way Of Life
E8 The Supersonics Second Fiddle
F1 Lee "Scratch" Perry* People Funny Boy
F2 The Tennors I've Got To Get You Off My Mind
F3 The Maytals Do The Reggay
F4 The Slickers Nana
F5 The Pioneers Mama Look
F6 The Maytals Pressure Drop
F7 The Maytones Black And White
F8 The Charmers Rasta Never Fails

Companies, etc.


  • Mastered ByMAX* (tracks: A1 to A8)


Collection of rocksteady, reggae and ska from 1961-'71, most from '66-'68.

Includes a roughly 12" double-sided insert. "The Trojan Story triple album (not to be confused with the sequel double album released in 1976 but since deleted) was originally released in 1972 and after a successful but brief period was deleted. Following the recent spate of ska-influenced records released by many of today's bands we felt it was time to re-issue the set in a limited edition. This time instead of a sleeve we have packaged them in a box for greater protection in view of their ever increasing historical value. The track listing is identical to the original, the music is the same (no re-mixes) and apart from some minor editing the sleeve notes haven't been altered. When listening to these records you soon realise that probably all of today's ska bands must have laid their hands on an original copy of the Trojan Story such is the influence of this compilation on today's music."

E8 and F2 are mislabeled as mentioned by ericbronson in the comments.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A): TALL 100 A.1 ✱ MAX
  • Matrix / Runout (B): (ALI) TALL 100 B.1 LIND 12996
  • Matrix / Runout (C): (ALI) TALL 100 C.1 LIND 12997
  • Matrix / Runout (D): (ALI) TALL 100 D.1 LIND 12998
  • Matrix / Runout (E): (ALI) TALL 100 E.1 LIND 12999
  • Matrix / Runout (F): (ALI) TALL 100 F.1 LIND 13000

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TALL 1 Various The Trojan Story(3xLP, Comp) Trojan Records TALL 1 UK 1971 Sell This Version
CDTAL100 Various The Trojan Story(2xCD, Comp, RE) Trojan Records CDTAL100 UK 1988 Sell This Version
TALL 1, PA-18001 Various The Trojan Story(3xLP, Comp, Box) Trojan Records, Trio Records TALL 1, PA-18001 Japan Unknown Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 25, 2013
Tracks E8 and F2 are mislabled and reversed on the LP. Whereas, track E8 is Supersonics, The – Second Fiddle and F2 is Tennors, The – I've Got To Get You Off My Mind. Not sure why no-one has pointed this out to date.