Various ‎– 'Til Things Are Brighter...A Tribute To Johnny Cash

Red Rhino Records ‎– REDCD 88
CD, Album, Compilation


1 Michelle Shocked One Piece At A Time 3:38
2 Stephen Mallinder I Walk The Line 2:11
3 Steve Mack Rosanna's Goin' Wild 1:55
4 Sally Timms Cry, Cry, Cry 3:01
5 David McComb Country Boy 1:48
6 Marc Riley Wanted Man 2:42
7 Peter Shelley* Straight 'A's In Love 1:45
8 Cathal Coughlan Ring Of Fire 2:25
9 Tracey* And Melissa Beehive* Five Feet High And Risin' 1:39
10 Brendan Croker Home Of The Blues 2:33
11 Mary Mary (2) Boy Named Sue 3:32
12 Mekons* Folsom Prison Blues 3:19
13 Marc Almond Man In Black 3:08



Mixed at Berry Street, January 1988.
Proceeds to The Terrence Higgins Trust
Distributed by Red Rhino/The Cartel.
℗ & © Red Rhino Records 1988
Track 9: artists listed as Tracey and Melissa Beehive



Add Review



August 23, 2011
edited over 6 years ago

This is one of my favorite tribute albums, ever. It's a Johnny Cash tribute album that had the class to come out over a decade before he died! All of the performances are great and the whole project is tied together by a consistent backing band for every singer. This lends the project a real unity. The appearance of several surprising guest vocalists whom one would never associate with Johnny Cash is a real plus! I never imagined I would ever hear Stephen Mallinder singing a country tune with straight backing but it's great! His delivery ends up being not a million miles away from Johnny Cash himself. As someone who liked Johnny Cash and collected Voice of the Beehive, Marc Almond, Cabaret Voltaire, This Petrol Emotion, and Pete Shelley, buying this when it was released was a no-brainer. This was a fantastic way to donate to the Terence Higgins trust as well.
For more ruminations on the Fresh New Sound Of Yesterday