Various ‎– Trojan Records Reggae Volume 1

Trojan Records ‎– BMG 15021V
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Desmond Dekker & The Aces Israelites 2:35
A2 Dave & Ansel Collins Double Barrel 2:31
A3 The Harry J All Stars* Liquidator 3:12
A4 The Pioneers Long Shot Kick The Bucket 2:48
A5 Dennis Brown Money In My Pocket 3:51
A6 Ken Boothe Everything I Own 3:47
B1 Bob & Marcia Young, Gifted And Black 3:08
B2 Nicky Thomas Love Of The Common People 2:18
B3 The Pioneers Let Your Yeah Be Yeah 3:15
B4 John Holt Help Me Make It Through The Night 3:04
B5 Susan Cadogan Hurt So Good 3:18
B6 Althea & Donna Uptown Top Ranking 3:54


Desmond Dekker's name is misspelled in the title of track A1 (but spelled correctly below in the credits).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 881034104021


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 12, 2017

This is a great collection of classic tunes. Unfortunately these Trojan reissues are some of the worst sounding records in my collection. They sound as though they are likely pressed from MP3 renders of the original tunes. Poor detail, bad dynamics, a general lack of frequency presence. If you're not too concerned with sound quality they are fine, but if you really want to experience these tracks as they were meant to be heard you will have to buy the original pressings. I initially bought them when I was first building my collection, and thought they would be a good, inexpensive way to add a bunch of classics to my library. Now that I have bought some of the original pressings, its hard to even listen to these compilations anymore, they just don't do the songs justice.


February 15, 2016

This is basically some selections from the Trojan UK Hits CD box set on vinyl.