Various ‎– Voices In The Air

Wavestation ‎– CD WS 1939
CD, Compilation


1 Abecedarians Smiling Monarchs 6:46
2 The Hitmen (6) Bates Motel 3:18
3 B-Movie Nowhere Girl (Full 12" Mix) 6:30
4 Plus One* Nevermore (Extended Club Mix) 6:24
5 Cetu Javu Help Me Now (Extended Club Mix) 6:16
6 Counterfeit (2) The Good Samaritan 4:08
7 Secession Sneakyville 3:44
8 Hard Corps Lucky Charm (Extended Club Mix) 6:56
9 Ken Heaven The Calling (Full Extended 12" Mix) 7:36
10 Celebrate The Nun Patience 3:26
11 Secession The Magician 4:22
12 Cetu Javu Don't Leave Me (Special Radio Edit) 4:04
13 Hubert Kah Military Drums 3:38
14 Celebrate The Nun You Make Me Wonder 3:54

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 47012 94079


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



October 15, 2013
edited over 4 years ago
I've only just found out we appeared on this (Counterfeit). For some strange reason the back cover lists me as the sole composer - when the three of us wrote "Good Samaritan". No worries though - the label haven't even seen it decent to inform us that we were on his CD let alone send us a copy - and songwriting royalties? Dream on.....


October 15, 2013
Bleedin' Nora! This has been out twenty years - our band is on it and this is the first we know! (Counterfeit)


November 21, 2012

This compilation captures everything that was magical and popular about synth-pop club music during the mid 1980’s. The CD opens up with LA’s own Abecedarians Factory Record single “Smiling Monarchs” with pounding beats and great synth lines throughout. If you frequented an of the new wave-goth clubs in the LA area during the years 1985-1987 chances are that you danced the night away to many of the song on this compilation. The version of “Nowhere Girl” (extended mix) is what got a lot of airplay on Pasadena’s KROQ 106.7 FM and probably is the most recognizable track featured hear. Going out and trying to purchase many of the obscure songs in their original vinyl formats would leave many a DJ hurting in the pockets. Like for instance, “The Calling” (full extended 12” mix) by Ken Heaven is a must. Two great tracks by Secession are featured here as well. Only wished that a version of “Touch” by Secession had made an appearance but both “The Magician” and “Sneakyville” are catchy and fit in just fine. “Bates Motel” by the Hitmen has a total early new wave KROQ sound that makes you move your feet to the steady beat. Plus One’s “Nevermore” brings back memories of listening to tracks like “Tin Tin” by Stephen Duffy. These tracks are synth-pop at their finest. The tracks by Celebrate the Nun and Cetu Javu will appeal to fans of Black Celebration era Depeche Mode. Wish there was more info provided on the artists and tracks featured on this compilation but I guess that’s what researching the internet is for. This compilation reminds you what was great about the whole wave on synth based music and great production.