Various ‎– WLLZ Motor City Rocks II

Starstream Record Co. ‎– RTR-8324
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Legacy (51) I Dont Believe It
A2 Cinema (24) Only the Angels Know
A3 Streetwise (6) Maybe Next Time
A4 Lifters (2) Boy Grows Man
A5 Natasha (18) Heroes
B1 D.B.Night I'm Hangin'
B2 Motor City Mutants So American
B3 Cadillac Kidz Shoulder To Shoulder
B4 Dreamer (22) Criminal Action
B5 Matriarch (2) Fantasy Tonight

Companies, etc.



Local Detroit Bands from 1983 on a radio station WLLZ compilation record.



Add Review



February 3, 2020
edited 8 months ago

The second compilation from this Detroit radio station.

Standout artists: Legacy, Cinema, Lifters, Natasha, Dreamer, Matriarch

Track by track:

1. Legacy - "I Don't Believe It": Female-fronted AOR musically similar to early Journey. Nice shimmering keyboards during the verses too.
2. Cinema - "Only The Angels Know": Progressive rock with a haunting intro.
3. Streetwise - "Maybe Next Time": New wave/power pop.
4. Lifters - "Boy Grows Man": New wave that sounds like The Police (musically) meets Devo (vocally during the chorus).
5. Natasha - "Heroes": Female-fronted new wave/synth-pop in the vein of Oingo Boingo and Alien Heirs.
6. D.B. Night - "I'm Hangin'": Female-fronted hard rock from their EP. Lead singer/rhythm guitarist Debbie Darnell's vocals sound similar to those of Pat Benatar and Entourage's Robin Marshall.
7. Motor City Mutants - "So American": Power pop.
8. Cadillac Kidz - "Shoulder To Shoulder": Hard rock/power pop similar to Cheap Trick.
9. Dreamer - "Criminal Action": Upbeat AOR with stabbing keyboards.
10. Matriarch - "Fantasy Tonight": Pompy female-fronted AOR with a late '70s feel. It starts out slow, but kicks into an uptempo interlude in the middle.