Various ‎– Wake Up You! The Rise And Fall of Nigerian Rock 1972-1977 Vol. 1

Now-Again Records ‎– NA 5142-ST1 (VOL.1), Now-Again Records ‎– NA 5142
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Formulars Dance Band Never Never Let Me Down
Producer – Dave BennettWritten-By – Fred Alaribe*
A2 The Hygrades Keep On Moving
Bass Guitar – Kevin Coburn*Drums – "Frank"*Engineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Lead Guitar, Written-By – Goddy OkuProducer – Chris NwaigaRhythm Guitar – Clement AmaechiVocals – Elvis Ato Arinze
A3 Ify Jerry Krusade Everybody Likes Something Good
Guitar – Benna Kemfa, Popo KamsonLead Vocals, Lead Guitar – Ify Jerry*Percussion – Kingsley " King UD" Obiche*Written-By – Jeremiah "Ify Jerry" Jiagbogbu
A4 The Hygrades In The Jungle (Instrumental)
Bass Guitar – Kevin Coburn*Drums – "Frank"*Engineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Lead Guitar, Written-By – Goddy OkuProducer – Chris NwaigaRhythm Guitar – Clement AmaechiVocals – Elvis Ato Arinze
A5 The Strangers (50) Onye Ije
Bass Guitar – Joe ArukweDrums – Tammy EvansEngineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Lead Guitar – Anii Hofnar UmebuaniLead Vocals – Sam Matthews*Organ, Vocals – Bob MigaProducer – Chris NwaigaRhythm Guitar, Vocals – Timmy Nebuwa
B1 The Hykkers Stone The Flower
Bass Guitar, Written-By – Jake SolloDrums – Emile LawsonEngineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Lead Guitar – Ify Jerry*Lead Vocals – Pat FinnProducer – Odion IruojeRhythm Guitar – Jeff AfamVocals, Percussion – Willie Bestman*Written-By – Jeremiah "Ify Jerry" Jiagbogbu
B2 The Funkees Baby I Need You
Bass Guitar, Vocals – Danny "Heibs" Ibe*Congas – Sonny AkpanDrums – Ben AlakaEngineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Guitar – Harry MoscoLead Vocals, Electric Piano, Written-By – Bill IkePercussion, Vocals – Chyke MaduProducer – The Funkees
B3 Waves (19) Mother
Drums – Eric MannProducer – Dave BennettWritten-By – Goddy JasperWritten-By, Bass Guitar, Vocals – Akuma WaltersWritten-By, Guitar, Vocals – Dave KumaloWritten-By, Lead Guitar, Lead Vocals – April Laine
B4 Ofo The Black Company Beautiful Daddy
Bass Guitar – Soni MakokoGuitar, Vocals – Benna Kemfa, Popo KamsonOrgan, Vocals – Ify Jerry*Percussion – Kingsley ObichePercussion, Vocals – Johnny IfedioranmaProducer – Dave BennettWritten-By, Vocals – Larry Ifedioranma
B5 War-Head Constriction Graceful Bird
Bass Guitar, Vocals – Femi LasodeGuitar, Vocals – Martin AmenechiProducer – Dave BennettWritten-By, Drums, Vocals – Etim Bassey
C1 The Magnificient Zeinians Ije Udo
Bass Guitar – Johnny AshiDrums – Play ParkerEngineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Lead Guitar – Eddy Pollo Neesackey*Organ – Maxwell Lee*Percussion – Rex Gildo (2)Rhythm Guitar – Mac Miller*Written-By, Electric Piano – Tony Grey (2)
C2 The Apostles (4) Never Too Late
Bass – Henry Tandu*Lead Guitar – Walton ArungwaLead Vocals – Chyke Fussion OkoroOrgan – Benjamin Davidson*Producer – Chris NwaigaRecorded By – Emmanuel Odenusi*Rhythm Guitar – Harrison MbaVocals – Murphy WilliamsWritten-By, Drums – Joel Madubuike
C3 Aktion Groove The Funk
Bass – Renny Pearl*Congas – Abayomi Frank*Drums – Ben AlakaLead Vocals – Essien AkpabioLead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar – Lemmy Faith*Organ, Vocals – Chyke OdukweProducer – Ben OkonkwoRecorded By – Kayode SalamiWritten-By – Aktion
C4 Wrinkar Experience Ballad Of A Sad Young Woman
Bass – Edjo'o Jacques RacineDrums – Colins OsokporEngineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Guitar, Vocals – Danie Ian*Producer – Odion Iruoje, Tonny ClarkWritten-By, Lead Vocals, Organ, Piccolo Flute – Ginger Forcha
D1 Founders 15 I Can't Be Satisfied
Drums – Ifeanyi Sam Akpati*Engineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*Guitar – Nek AdririkaKeyboards, Vocals – Sony EnangLead Vocals – Iyke Peters*Producer – Chris NwaigaWritten-By, Bass, Vocals – Marshall Udo*
D2 Tirogo Float
Congas, Percussion, Vocals – Godwin DebogieDrums, Vocals – Wilfred IwangKeyboards, Percussion – Funmi Onabuolu*Lead Guitar, Percussion – Elvy AkhionbareProducer – Emmanuel Odenusi*Recorded By – Kayode Salami, Monday OkiWritten-By, Arranged By, Lead Vocals, Bass, Rhythm Guitar, Percussion – Wilfred Ekanem
D3 Question Mark (5) Scram Out
Bass Guitar – Amechi IzuoraDrums – Chyke OkaforLead Guitar – Victor EgbePercussion – Uzo AgulefoRecorded By – Monday OkiWritten-By, Lead Vocals, Organ – Franklin Izuora
D4 P.R.O. (People Rock Outfit) Tell Me
Engineer [Possible] – Emmanuel Odenusi*, Kayode SalamiGuitar, Lead Vocals – Justus "Jay U" Nnakwe*Organ, Synthesizer [Moog] – Johnnie Woode Olimmah*Percussion – Monday OkiProducer – Odion IruojeStrings – Goddy OkuWritten-By – Justus NnakweWritten-By, Bass, Vocals – Drago Uboma*Written-By, Drums, Vocals – Stoneface Iwuagwu

Companies, etc.



Regular Version with yellow sticker on frontcover
2LP with download card for digital booklet and MP3S included

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (On backcover): 6 59457 51425 9

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All



Add Review



March 24, 2018

Many clicks on my brand new copy. Bad pressing? Music is great.