Various ‎– Why Do You Think They Call It Pop? - The Pop Narcotic Compilation

Pop Narcotic ‎– NARC006
2 × Vinyl, 10", 33 ⅓ RPM, Compilation, Pink marbled and yellow marbled

Tracklist Hide Credits

Pop Side
A1 Sleepyhead Hot Stuff
Bass – Mike Gallinsky*Drums, Vocals – Rachael McNallyGuitar, Vocals – Chris O'RourkeRecorded By [With] – Fred Brockman
A2 The Dambuilders Pennsylvania
Bass – Dave DerbyDrums – Eric ¨Porcarro¨ Masunaga*Guitar – Kevin ¨Frehley¨ March*Producer – Butch PigViolin – Joan WasserWritten-By – K. March*
A3 Small Factory Yeah!
Bass, Vocals – Alex KempDrums, Vocals – Phoebe SummersquashGuitar, Vocals – David Auchenbach*Recorded By – Small Factory
A4 Versus Sunburned (Life's A Beach)
Bass, Vocals – Fontaine ToupsDrums – Ed BaluyutGuitar, Vocals – Richard BaluyutProducer – Jeff Moneytruck*, VersusRecorded By – Dave ¨Rock Is Back¨*
Narc Side
B1 Polvo Colonial Arms
Recorded By [With] – Eric Masunaga
B2 Monsterland Sunburn
Bass, Vocals – Thom M.*Drums – Todd CroninGuitar [Guitars] – Greg Vegas
B3 Wingtip Sloat Leap Into My Velvet Arms
Performer – Allan Jules Dubue*, David Bishenhofer*, Patrick Frost*
Cot Side
C1 Helium (3) In A Little Box
Bass, Vocals – Brian DuntonDrums – Sean King Devlin*Guitar, Vocals – Mary Timony
C2 Ruby Falls Let Me Go
Bass, Vocals, Lyrics By – Cynthia NelsonDrums – Andrew BordwinEngineer – Greg TalenfeldGuitar – Jennifer Rogers, Letha RodmanMixed By – Fred Brockman, Lyle HysenMusic By – Ruby Falls
C3 Twig (5) Airplane
Bass – Niels LaWhiteDrums – Ramona*Guitar, Vocals – Julie Kantner, Trisha MatthewsMixed By, Producer – Bill T. Miller, Twig (5)
Tick Side
D1 Greenhorn 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover
Bass [Plowin'] – Steve McGannDrums [Drummin'] – Pat McGannEngineer – David SiefertGuitar [Pickin'] – Mark SpurgeonGuitar [Strummin'], Vocals [Sangin'] – Dan SpurgeonWritten-By – Paul Simon
D2 Kudgel Friction->Ali Baba
Recorded By – Wharton Tiers
D3 Grifters Black Fuel Incinerator
Bass – Tripp*Drums – Stan*Engineer – Davis McCain, Doug EasleyGuitar – Scott*Vocals, Guitar – Dave*

Companies, etc.



Sides A and B pressed on marbled pink vinyl; C and D pressed on marbled yellow vinyl.
Issued with double-sided insert (title / credits).

Track information:
A1: Recorded At Snack Time Studios, Hoboken NJ
A3: Recorded At 38 Pratt St.
A4: Recorded Winter 1993. (c) + (P) 1993 Versus
B1: Recorded at The White Room
B2: (c) 1992 Monsterland
B3: Recorded on 4-track at Mile-a-minute Studios, Falls Church, VA
C2: Recorded January, 1993 at Waterworks, NYC. Mixed March, 1993 at Snack Time, Hoboken, NJ
C3: Recorded at Headroom, Boston, MA
D1: Recorded at Metropolis Studios. (c) 1975 Paul Simon
D3: Recorded Sunday, May 16 at Underground Parking Garage Next To Flower Shop. Vocal plus mixing at Easley Studio, Wednesday June 9

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, etched): NARC006 A MCRDS L-41952
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, etched): NARC006 B MCRDS L-41952-X̶ ̶
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, etched): NARC006 C MCRDS L-41952
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, etched): NARC006 D MCRDS L-41952