Various from Frank Zappa ‎– Zappéd

Bizarre Records ‎– PRO 368, Reprise Records ‎– PRO 368
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Sampler

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Alice Cooper Titanic Overture
Producer, Written-By – Alice Cooper
A2 Captain Beefheart And His Magic Band The Blimp (Mousetrapreplica)
Producer – Frank ZappaWritten-By – Don Van Vliet
A3 Judy Henske And Jerry Yester Horses On A Stick
Producer – Jerry Yester, Zal Yanovsky
A4 Tim Buckley I Must Have Been Blind
Producer, Written-By – Tim Buckley
A5 Wild Man Fischer Merry-Go-Round
Producer – Frank ZappaWritten-By – Larry Fischer*
A6 Alice Cooper Reflected
Producer – Alice Cooper
A7 Tim Dawe Little Boy Blue
Arranged By, Producer – Jerry Yester
A8 Lord Buckley The Train
Engineer, Producer – Lyle Griffin
B1 Jeff Simmons Lucille Has Messed My Mind Up
Engineer – Chris HustonGuitar, Written-By – Frank ZappaProducer – La Marr Bruister
B2 Captain Beefheart And His Magic Band Old Fart At Play
Producer – Frank ZappaWritten-By – Don Van Vliet
B3 The Mothers Of Invention* Valarie
Producer, Written-By – Frank Zappa
B4 GTO's Do Me In Once And I'll Be Sad, Do Me In Twice And I'll Know Better (Circular Circulation)
Composed By, Producer – Lowell GeorgeLyrics By, Vocals – Miss Pamela*
B5 Frank Zappa Willie The Pimp
Producer – Frank ZappaVocals – Captain BeefheartWritten-By – Frank Zappa

Companies, etc.



From early in 1969 to 1977 Reprise Records (and their parent label Warner Bros. Records) ran a USA & Canada only mail-order promotion on a number of the inner sleeves of their mainstream artist's releases. This was to promote a wide range of less popular artists on compilation albums known as the 'Loss Leader' PRO series, sold at a significantly reduced mail-order price.

The black & white cover of this PRO 368 release is a collage of Zappa & Straight artists and the title is "Zappéd" with an accent over the 'e' (unlike a previous similar PRO 368 release with a Zappa photo cover & 'Bizarre' label). This record's label is Reprise Records. Track titles are also different to the earlier release, which did not have the Straight singles.
Issues did occasionally appear later in retail outlets, particularly later in Australia.

Track sources on this compilation:
A1 & A6: From the 1969 Straight label album "Pretties For You" (STS 1051).
A6 also released as a single b/w "Living" (ST 101).
A2 & B2: From the 1969 Straight label double album "Trout Mask Replica" (2-STS 1053).
A3: From the 1969 Straight label album "Farewell Aldebaran" (STS 1052).
Also released as a single b/w "Snowblind"(ST 102).
A4: From the 1969 Straight label album "Blue Afternoon" (STS 1060).
A5: From the Bizarre/Reprise album "An Evening with Wild Man Fischer" (RS 6332 & 2XS 6332).
A7: From the 1969 Straight label album "Penrod" (STS 1058).
A8: From the 1969 Straight label album "A Most Immaculately Hip Aristocrat" (STS 1054).
B1: From the 1969 Straight label album "Lucille Has Messed My Mind Up" (STS 1057).
Recorded at Whitney Studios, Glendale 1969.
Zappa performed on this & produced under the pseudonym LaMarr Bruister.
Not the Zappa version on Joe's Garage Act I. (1979).
B3: From the 1969 Bizarre/Reprise label album "Burnt Weeny Sandwich" (RS 6370).
B4: From the 1969 Straight label album "Permanent Damage" (STS 1059).
Also released as a single "Circular Circulation" b/w "Mercy's Tune" (ST 104).
B5: From the 1969 Bizarre/Reprise label album "Hot Rats" (RS 6356).

Some of the above albums were subsequently released on other labels, bearing respective catalog numbers for those labels.

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 5, 2016

Let me start by saying that this album is not for everyone. Even many Zappa fans would be slightly turned off by it's novelty-value. However, this is a very interesting and eclectic sampler of songs that cover a wide-range of styles from country, rock, avant-garde, spoken-word, and novelty music.


December 21, 2015
edited 3 months ago
I have a copy with this cover and track listing, but mine is on Bizarre, not Reprise. My 2nd edition of this Warner Loss Leader (5th in a series of 35) is the "other PRO 368 release" referenced above, also on Bizarre. I always thought the collage cover came first, and was replaced several months later by the non-grinning Zappa-only cover. I've come across several copies of the "Hot Rats" cover; mine is the only copy of the collage cover I've personally seen.