Varnaline ‎– Sweet Life

Zero Hour ‎– ZER CD 4130

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Gulf Of Mexico
2 Northern Lights
Guitar [Pedal Steel] – Eric Heywood
3 Now You're Dirt
Guitar – Phil Hurley
4 All About Love
5 While You Were Sleeping
6 Saviours
Trombone – Dean Jones (4)
7 This Is The River
8 Underneath The Mountain
9 Fuck And Fight
10 Mare Imbrium
11 Tonite
12 Sweet Life
Cello – Stephanie WintersViolin, Viola – Carol Sharar


Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZER LP 4130 Varnaline Sweet Life(LP, Album) Zero Hour ZER LP 4130 US 1998 Sell This Version
CD 0008 Varnaline Sweet Life(CD, Album, RE) Undertow Music, Cloud Records CD 0008 US 2002 Sell This Version



Add Review



September 11, 2016
A SLOW PLODDING exercise of reserved rock-out trying very hard at sensitivity with an orchestrally "textured" slant delivering nothing more than trickling tributaries from a draining impetus. "Northern Lights" gets the Americana treatment from SON VOLT slideman Eric Heywood but like most of these twelve songs never seem to gain enough steam to leave an impression. Getting deeper into the album reveals the gloriously sad "Saviours" embellished nicely with trombone and Parker's remotely detached voice. Soon after, the trio picks up speed with "Under the Mountain," cow bell and all but fizzled with the 12 minute RACHEL-esqe opus "Sweet Life." When Anders Parker sang tear me down, tear me down, tear me down on "Hear The Birds Cry" from "A Shot and a Beer," I didn't expect to take him literally.