Venuti*, Rollini*, Lang* Featuring Benny Goodman, Tommy Dorsey, Jimmy Dorsey & Bud Freeman ‎– The Sound That Swung The Thirties

Music For Pleasure ‎– MFP 1161
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue, Mono

Companies, etc.



Tracks A1 to A4 recorded by Joe Venuti - Eddie Lang Blue Five, New York, February 28th 1933
Tracks A5 & A6 recorded by Adrian Rollini & His Orchestra, New York, June 12th 1933
Tracks B1 & B2 recorded by Joe Venuti & His Blue Six, New York, October 2nd 1933
Tracks B3 & B4 recorded by Joe Venuti & His Blue Five, New York, May 8th 1933
Tracks B5 & B6 recorded by Joe Venuti & His Blue Four, London, September 20th 1934
Typo: Track 3 on side two is listed as (a 2nd) track 2 and (incorrectly) credited as Joe Venuti & His Orchestra. Correct band is credited in the band listings alonside the track listing.
UK purchase tax code KT applicable from July 1, 1963.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label both sides): MFP 1161
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix label side A): MFP 1161 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix label side B): MFP 1161 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A stamped): MFP 1161 A-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B stamped): MFP 1161 B-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A etched): GH 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B etched): GT 2
  • Other (UK purchase tax code, stamped across spindle hole side A): KT

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All