Voiz ‎– Boanerges

Grapevine (2) ‎– GRV 110
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Little Words
A2 Laughing
A3 All The Way From Fryslân
A4 Trust
B1 Keep Quiet
B2 Quality Of Life
B3 Dank U (Thank You)

Companies, etc.



Includes an inner sleeve with lyrics.


Add Review



April 17, 2013
Voiz is a band that play a sort of blues with progressive influences and religious lyrics. They started under the name His Masters Voice and the members where Koop Hofman (bass guitar), Sietse Kuipers (guitar), Bauke Sijtsma (guitar), Jacob Sijtsma (drums) and Herke Tichelaar (guitar). The music they play is folk rock with religious lyrics. As time goes by, they change their style to more progressive music. The line up is also changing, they are joined by Ivo de Jong (flute) and Jan Idzenga (bass guitar). When they were invited to record an album in England they changed their name to Voiz. After some personnel changes the band evolved into Bonnie & the Boerema's. At this time the music was more soul and ska.

Basically a Christian rock album with an occasional meter shift or dynamic change putting it in the "progressive" category, though that's a stretch. Early Jethro Tull gets more than a passing reference, but not solidly in that camp. Lots of hard rock, blues, jazz flute -- typical smorgasbord from a band that was trying to get their message across anyway they could.

Voiz is a superb Dutch six-man progressive outfit that couples a hard-rock approach with classical flute accompaniment. The end result is a very bluesy sound not unlike early Jethro Tull recordings such as This Was and Stand Up. Only seven tracks, most being fairly long. '70s FM prog buffs will not be disappointed as they experience the slow burn of 'Keep Quiet' and 'Little Words', or the grungy r&r boogie of 'All The Way From Fryslan', all with loud potent electric guitar leads. 'Quality Of Life' and 'Laughing' both supply whimsical upbeat moments, the latter making use of ukulele, clarinet, and fuzz bass.

'Dank U', the only non-English song, provides a quieter symphonic mood before closing with a heavy electric guitar climax. Lively skillful flute work everywhere you turn, plus a few saxophone appearances, all within the prog/classic-rock context. Also nice dreamy background synthesizer adding depth to the sound. Deserves the same recognition as heavyweights like Agape and The Exkursions. Produced by Pete Yates-Round of Parchment and released on the British Grapevine label.

(Ken Scott - Archivist).......Full Album in Playlist....http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3OV5QGpDBFFrp92riWtqrQt-DmDObT03