Wardruna ‎– Runaljod – Yggdrasil

Indie Recordings ‎– INDIE104CD
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Rotlaust Tre Fell 4:11
2 Fehu 6:45
3 Naudir 6:31
4 Ehwar 4:10
5 Ansur
Vocals – Heidi NybroVoice [Proto-Norse Galder] – Lars Magnar Enoksen
6 Iwar 5:42
7 Ingwar 5:28
8 Gibu 5:30
9 Solringen 6:30
10 Sowelu
Arranged By [Various Arrangements] – Hilmar Örn HilmarssonVoice [Rímur-song] – Steindór Andersen
11 Helvegen
Vocals – Håvard Vegsund

Companies, etc.



Second part of the "Runaljod Trilogy".

Released in jewelcase.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 090014 387375
  • Matrix / Runout: INDIE104CD #2
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L173
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 3086
  • Rights Society: NCB

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
INDIE104CD Wardruna Runaljod – Yggdrasil(CD, Album, RE) Indie Recordings INDIE104CD Europe 2015 Sell This Version
13041-2 Wardruna Runaljod – Yggdrasil(CD, Album) Indie Recordings 13041-2 US 2013 Sell This Version
FO980CD Wardruna Runaljod – Yggdrasil(CD, Album) Фоно FO980CD Russia 2013 Sell This Version
BOBV361LP Wardruna Runaljod - Yggdrasil(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Red) Back On Black BOBV361LP UK 2015 Sell This Version
INDIE104LP Wardruna Runaljod - Yggdrasil(2xLP, Album) Indie Recordings INDIE104LP Norway 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



June 11, 2013

This is the second part of the planned Trilogy, which focuses on the ancient Norse Futhark, and brings it to life.
'Yggdrasil', (Old Norse: 'The World Tree') will be officially released by the end of March 2013, till then the fans of Pagan Folk will have to be patient. What began back in 2008 with 'Runaljod – Gap Var Ginnunga', continues now with the second part, its provisional culmination. Originally the band members come from Black Metal, and left the scene rather disappointed, only to start their new project 'Wardruna' almost 10 years ago. They seem to have reached their final destination by now.

There is no other thing than to be full of praise about the new work, it is very rare that I am so amazed.
The follow-up is more elaborated, thought through, where Part 1 sounded at some points quite improvised.

Under 'Yggdrasil', the pundits still argue if the tree symbolizes an Ash or a Yew, Odin receives the Wisdom of the Runes, as it is written in the Edda. The second part of the alphabet shines with uniquely performed Pagan Folk, played on acoustic instruments, danceable tunes, from the first one 'Rotlaust tre fell' to the last 'Helvegen'. A dynamic trip incorporating ritual percussions, ancient strings and wind instruments, like the Bukkehorn (Goat Horn). Featuring female and male vocals alternating with chorus in slower and faster pieces.

Meanwhile the band has grown to 6 members, which have played some exciting gigs in Europe. They matured quite a bit, as the sound on this album reflects.
Totaling 69 minutes, the Norwegian warriors well managed the centrepiece of the Gesamtkunstwerk.

Fenris W.