Warren McIntyre & The Starry Skies ‎– Ask The Animals

Mecca Holding Company ‎– MECCA 8
CD, Album


1 Ask The Animals
2 Let Love Come Back To You
3 Disappearing Darkness
4 How Many
5 Time Alone
6 Through The Black
7 Now Comes Autumn
8 Catapults
9 Secrets
10 For The Dark Is But A Star



Recorded at La Chunky Towers.

Thanks to Roy Moller, Ronan Breslin, all at Berkley2 and friends far and wide.


Add Review



July 12, 2013
edited over 4 years ago

Review from The Sound Project - 11/06/2012

"Ask the Animals' is the debut album from Warren McIntyre & the Starry Skies.

The band were formed by McIntyre last year and feature Jonny Moondial (lead guitar), Sporting Hero (bass), Heather Wellcoat (violin), Noel O'Donnell (drums and vocals), Chas Fraser (trumpet) and Monica Queen (harmony vocals).

The album itself is a sterling collection of twelve sings that cover subjects such as greed, the "space between the darkness of the stars" and, every songwriter's stock favourite, love.

Title track, 'Ask the Animals', 'How Many' and 'Secrets' are a challenge to the greed and corruption of those with the power. Although, it's with the latter song that McIntyre is at his lyrical best: 'Down at the mouth, the sellers sell, Bonds that are broken - on twisted shelves, Bullshit and candy, speak for themselves'. It's a lyric that captures the subject of corporate greed to a tee.

There's plenty of love songs on here to satisfy the old romantic in you, but it's the eerie beauty of 'Now Comes Autumn' that supplies the album's best moment. Haunting backing vocals from Monica Queen are wrapped around lyrical question 'is there anybody in there?'

'Time Alone' has a country feel about it, albeit with fuzzy guitars. Album closer 'For the Dark is But a Star' is a rockabilly number with almost balladic-elements.

There's plenty here for fans of Warren's previous work as well as enough to capture newcomers. It's strength is that it's able to nip in and out of several musical styles without making it seem either clumsy or forced.

Key song: Now Comes Autumn