The Who ‎– Meaty, Beaty, Big & Bouncy

Track Record ‎– 2406 006
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Stereo, Mono, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 I Can't Explain 2:05
A2 The Kids Are Alright 2:42
A3 Happy Jack 2:14
A4 I Can See For Miles 3:55
A5 Pictures Of Lily 2:37
A6 My Generation 3:15
A7 The Seeker 3:12
B1 Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
Written-By – Townshend*, Daltrey*
B2 Pinball Wizard 3:00
B3 A Legal Matter 2:47
B4 Boris The Spider
Written-By – John Entwistle
B5 Magic Bus 4:28
B6 Substitute 3:47
B7 I'm A Boy 3:42

Companies, etc.



[A1, A2, A6, B1, B3] ℗ 1965
[A3, B4, B6, B7] ℗ 1966
[A4, A5] ℗ 1967
[B5] ℗ 1968
[B2] ℗ 1969
[A7] ℗ 1970
* Mono [A1, B1, B6]
+ Enhanced Stereo [B5]
Made in Gt.Britain

Sleeve printed & made by the E.J. Day Group
* These tracks are mono

Catalog# on back cover: 2406 006 SUPER
Catalog# on spine: SUPER 2406 006

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (runout A, stamped + etched, variation 1): 246006 A1 PORKY 1 1 27
  • Matrix / Runout (runout B, stamped + etched, variation 1): 246006 B1 PECKO 1 2 8
  • Matrix / Runout (runout A, stamped + etched, variation 2): PORKY 246006 A//1 1 1 16
  • Matrix / Runout (runout B, stamped + etched, variation 2): PECKO 246006 B//1 1 3 5
  • Matrix / Runout (runout A,etched+stamped, variation 3): PORKY 246006 A//1 1 1 19
  • Matrix / Runout (runout B, etched+stamped, variation 3): PECKO 246006 B//1 1 2 8
  • Other (Price Code): SUPER

Other Versions (5 of 84) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MCAD-37001 The Who Meaty Beaty Big And Bouncy(CD, Comp, RE) MCA Records MCAD-37001 US 1988 Sell This Version
2383 082 The Who Meaty, Beaty, Big & Bouncy(LP, Comp) Polydor 2383 082 Australia 1971 Sell This Version
2484 180 The Who Meaty, Beaty, Big & Bouncy(LP, Comp) Polydor 2484 180 Argentina 1983 Sell This Version
309 The Who Meaty, Beaty, Big & Bouncy(8-Trk, Comp) Telecor 309 US Unknown Sell This Version
MCAC-1578 The Who Meaty Beaty Big And Bouncy(Cass, Comp) MCA Records MCAC-1578 US 1980 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



September 23, 2015

Probably the best compilation for a The Who fan, which, sadly, I'm not.
This is a record my Dad gave me, although he knows I'm not too fussed about them (screw you, Dad!)... However, I did get some fun out of it. Obviously, My Generation is a great song, as well as Happy Jack and The Kids Are Alright. So yeah, Side A is pretty decent. Unfortunately, it's not an album I could listen to constantly. It's definitely one of those I'll pick up from time to time, but nothing more. A couple of songs (can't remember the names) sounded a bit too predictable and generic in terms of rock music, though I know The Who played a big part in rock evolution, or should I say, 'revolution'....
Anyway, yes, it is my moral obligation to review all my records, even ones I don't want to. This record isn't necessarily bad, and it especially won't be for any of you reading this, however, I can only say that I got 'some' kicks out of it.


April 4, 2011

My copy has a gatefold sleeve. I can't tell from images of this release whether it is the same. Cat number on back sleve is 2406 006 SUPER.