The Who ‎– The Story Of The Who

Polydor ‎– 35MM0072/73
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Magic Bus
A2 Substitute
A3 Boris The Spider
Written-By – Entwistle*
A4 Run, Run, Run
A5 I'm A Boy
A6 Heat Wave
Written-By – Holland/Dozier/Holland*
A7 My Generation
B1 Pictures Of Lily
B2 Happy Jack
B3 The Seeker
B4 I Can See For Miles
B5 Bargain
B6 Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand
C1 Amazing Journey
C2 The Acid Queen
C3 Do You Think It's Alright?
C4 Fiddle About
Written-By – Entwistle*
C5 Pinball Wizard
C6 I'm Free
C7 Tommy's Holiday Camp
Written-By – Moon*
C8 We're Not Gonna Take It
D1 Summertime Blues
Written-By – Cochran*, Capehart*
D2 Baba O'Riley
Piano – Pete Townshend
D3 Behind Blue Eyes
D4 Dogs
D5 Won't Get Fooled Again

Companies, etc.


  • Bass, Brass, VocalsJohn Entwistle
  • Drums, PercussionKeith Moon
  • Executive Producer – Kit Lambert, Chris Stamp, Pete Kameron (tracks: B5, D2, D3, D5)
  • Guitar [Guitars], Organ [Vcs3 Organ], Synthesizer [Arp Synthesiser], VocalsPete Townshend
  • ProducerGlyn Johns (tracks: B6, D4), Kit Lambert (tracks: A1, A3 to A7, B1, B2, B4, C1 to C8), The Who (tracks: A2, B3, B5, D2, D3, D5)
  • Producer [Associate]Glyn Johns (tracks: B5, D2, D3, D5)
  • VocalsRoger Daltrey
  • Written-ByTownshend* (tracks: A1, A2, A4, A5, A7 to C3, C5, C6, C8, D2 to D5)


1981 japanese 26-track double vinyl lp gatefold picture sleeve which features scrapbook style biographical details taken from an issue of NME plus fold-out japanese lyric insert & obi-strip

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: JASRAC

Other Versions (5 of 30) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
2683 069 The Who The Story Of The Who(2xLP, Comp, Mono, Gat) Polydor 2683 069 UK 1976 Sell This Version
2668 015 The Who The Story Of The Who(2xLP, Comp) Polydor 2668 015 New Zealand 1976 Sell This Version
3870 047 The Who The Story Of The Who(8-Trk, Comp, Mono) Polydor 3870 047 UK 1976 Sell This Version
2668 015 The Who The Story Of The Who(2xLP, Comp) Polydor 2668 015 Greece 1977 Sell This Version
2478 091/2 The Who The Story Of The Who(2xLP, Comp) Polydor 2478 091/2 Brazil 1977 Sell This Version


Add Review



July 27, 2015
what made this JAPAN ONLY edition of this infamous uk and european compilation released in 1976 unique to japan only is the track DOGS was included here, this lp set was reissued a few times again between 1977 and 1982, the first 3 pressings came with a very nice booklet attached to the inside gatefold with great photos and information regarding each member, the last pressing in 1982 DID NOT INCLUDE that booklet, anyway once again this review is for the JAPAN edition, there where 3 japan reissues of this lp in japan only and dogs remained on all reissues as well......