Wilco ‎– A Ghost Is Born

Nonesuch ‎– 79809-2
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 At Least That's What You Said
Bass – John StirrattDrums – Glenn KotchePiano – Leroy BachPiano [End Piano] – Jim O'RourkeSynthesizer – Mikael JorgensenVocals, Electric Guitar – Jeff Tweedy
A2 Hell Is Chrome
Bass – O'Rourke*Drums – Kotche*Electric Guitar, Backing Vocals – Stirratt*Organ [Korg CX-3 Organ] – Bach*Piano – Jorgensen*Vocals, Lead Guitar [Electric Lead Guitar] – Tweedy*
A3 Spiders (Kidsmoke)
Bass, Backing Vocals – Stirratt*Drums – Kotche*Piano, Keyboards [RMI Rocksichord] – Jorgensen*Rhythm Guitar [Electric Rhythm Guitar], Piano, Synthesizer [ARP 2600] – O'Rourke*Vocals, Lead Guitar [Electric Lead Guitar] – Tweedy*
B1 Muzzle Of Bees
Acoustic Guitar, Piano – O'Rourke*Bass – Bach*Drums – Kotche*Piano, Backing Vocals – Stirratt*Piano, Organ [Farfisa Organ] – Jorgensen*Vocals, Twelve-String Guitar [Acoustic Baritone 12 String Guitar], Lead Guitar – Tweedy*
B2 Hummingbird
Bass, Lead Guitar [Electric Lead Guitar] – O'Rourke*Drums – Kotche*Dulcimer [Hammer Dulcimer] – Frankie MontuoroRhythm Guitar [Electric Rhythm Guitar], Backing Vocals – Stirratt*Viola – Karen WaltuchVocals – Tweedy*
B3 Handshake Drugs
Bass, Backing Vocals – Stirratt*Drums – Kotche*Keyboards [RMI Rock-si-chord] – Jorgensen*Percussion – Tim BarnesPiano – Bach*Rhythm Guitar [Electric Rhythm Guitar] – O'Rourke*Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Tweedy*
C1 Wishful Thinking
Bass – Stirratt*Drums – Kotche*Organ [Korg CX-3 Organ] – O'Rourke*Piano, Organ [Farfisa Organ] – Jorgensen*Vibraphone – Bach*Vocals, Twelve-String Guitar [Acoustic Baritone 12 String Guitar], Acoustic Guitar – Tweedy*
C2 Company In My Back
Acoustic Guitar – O'Rourke*Bass – Stirratt*Drums, Dulcimer [Hammer Dulcimer], Percussion – Kotche*Piano, Organ [Korg CX-3 Organ] – Bach*Synthesizer [Fenix Modular Synthesizer], Keyboards [Stylophone] – Jorgensen*Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Tweedy*
C3 I'm A Wheel
Bass – Stirratt*Drums – Kotche*Electric Guitar – Tweedy*, Bach*
C4 Theologians
Acoustic Guitar – Bach*Bass – Stirratt*Drums – Kotche*Piano – O'Rourke*, Jorgensen*Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Tweedy*
D1 Less Than You Think
Acoustic Guitar, Loops, Effects [Filters], Synth – Stirratt*, Bach*Drums, Dulcimer [Hammered Dulcimer], Loops, Effects [Filters], Synth – Kotche*Loops, Effects [Filters], Synth – O'Rourke*Synthesizer [Serge Modular Synthesizer] – Jorgensen*Vocals, Acoustic Bass [6 String Acoustic Bass], Loops, Effects [Filters], Synth – Tweedy*
D2 The Late Greats
Bass – Stirratt*Drums, Dulcimer [Hammered Dulcimer] – Kotche*Electric Guitar – O'Rourke*Piano – Bach*Piano, Organ [Farfisa Organ] – Jorgensen*Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Tweedy*

Companies, etc.



Packaged in a gatefold sleeve. Includes printed inner sleeves.

℗ & © 2004 Nonesuch Records Inc. for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside the United States.
Manufactured & marketed by Rhino Vinyl, 3400 W. Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA 91505. A Warner Music Group company.
All Rights Reserved. Warning: Unauthorized reproduction of this recording is prohibited by Federal law and subject to criminal prosecution.
Printed in Canada.

℗ 2004 Nonesuch Records Inc., a Warner Music Group company.
Made in Germany.

Recorded at Sear Sound, NYC.
Side 3 tracks C2, C3, and C4, and side 4 track D1 (non-drone section) recorded at SOMA E.M.S., Chicago, engineered by Mikael Jorgensen (Tim Iseler, assistant), with additional recording at Sear Sound, engineered by Jim O'Rourke.

Mastered [...] at Abbey Road, London.

Publishing: Tweedy - Words Ampersand Music, BMI / Storratt - Poeyfarre Songs, BMI / Kotche - Pear Blossom Music, BMI / Jorgensen - Jorgenstormusic, ASCAP / O'Rourke - field code music, BMI / Girard - chaoticgoodmusic, ASCAP / Back - Come Here With That Music, ASCAP.
All administered by Bug Music.

Management: Tony Margherita (TMM, Chicago)
Booking U.S. & Pacific: Frank Riley (High Road Touring, Sausalito)
Booking Europe: Bob Gold (GAA, London)
Legal: Joseph L. Grier (Pryor, Cushman, et al., NYC)
U.S. Press: Deb Bernardini (dbmpr, NYC)
Digital Oversight: Ken Waagner (Smartley-Dunn Solutions, Chicago)

All drawings by Gladys Nilsson, courtesy of the artist and The Ganzfeld.
Record label drawings are details from an untitled drawing first published in Hairy Who (cut-a-log), 1969.
The untitled gatefold drawing was first published in Hairy Who / Smoke Hairy Who, 1968.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 081227649210
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, scratched out): R1-76582-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1): R1-76492-A KMCATM P.USA 12449.1(3) -23213-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, scratched out): R1-76582-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2): R1-76492 B KMCATM P.USA -23213- 12449.2(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 3, scratched out): R1-76582-C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 3): R1-76492-C / KMCATM / 12449.3(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 4, scratched out): R1-76582-D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 4): R1-76492-D / KMCATM / 12449.4(3)
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
8122-76492-1, 76492-1 Wilco A Ghost Is Born(2xLP, Album) Nonesuch, Nonesuch 8122-76492-1, 76492-1 US 2004 Sell This Version
79809-2 Wilco A Ghost Is Born(CD, Album, Enh, RE, Sli) Nonesuch 79809-2 US 2004 Sell This Version
PRCD-301452 Wilco A Ghost Is Born(CD, Album, Promo) Nonesuch PRCD-301452 US 2004 Sell This Version
7559-79809-2 Wilco A Ghost Is Born(CD, Album, Enh) Nonesuch 7559-79809-2 Europe 2004 Sell This Version
WPCR-11855 Wilco A Ghost Is Born(CD, Album) Nonesuch WPCR-11855 Japan 2004 Sell This Version