Wild Man Fischer ‎– An Evening With Wild Man Fischer

Reprise Records ‎– 2XS 6332, Bizarre Records ‎– 2XS 6332, Reprise Records ‎– 6332
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

Side I: The Basic Fischer
A1 Merry-Go-Round (This Is Larry's Theme Song, Sort Of)
Accompanied By – The Bizarre Percussion Ensemble
A2 New Kind Of Songs For Sale (Live On The Strip)
A3 "I'm Not Shy Anymore!" (Larry Relives The Past In The Studio)
A4 "Are You From Clovis?"
A5 The Madness And Ecstacy (Kim Fowley & Rodney Bingenheimer Provide An Introduction To, And Make Prophesies About The Future Of Wild Man Fischer)
Vocals – GTO's, Kim Fowley, Rodney Bingenheimer
Side II: Larry's Songs, Unaccompanied
B1 Which Way Did The Freaks Go?
B2 I'm Working For The Federal Bureau Of Narcotics
B3 The Leaves Are Falling
B4 85 Times
B5 Cops & Robbers
B6 Monkeys Versus Donkeys
B7 Start Life Over Again
B8 The Mope
B9 Life Brand New
B10 Who Did It Johnny?
B11 Think Of Me When Your Clothes Are Off
B12 Taggy Lee
B13 Rhonda
B14 I Looked Around You
B15 Jennifer Jones
Side III: Some Historical Notes
C1 The Taster (Fancy Version)
C2 The Story Of The Taster
C3 The Rocket Rock
C4 The Rocket Rock Explanation & Dialog
C5 Dream Girl
C6 Dream Girl Explanation
C7 Serrano (Sorrento?) Beach
Accompanied By – The Bizarre Percussion Ensemble
C8 Success Will Not Make Me Happy
C9 Wild Man On The Strip Again
Side IV: In Conclusion
D1 Why I Am Normal
D2 The Wild Man Fischer Story
D3 Balling Isn't Everything
D4 Ugly Beautiful Girl
D5 Larry & His Guitar
D6 Circle (Larry's First Psychedelic Hit)
D7 Larry Under Pressure

Companies, etc.



Engineered at Sunset Sound Studios, Hollywood, CA.
(Portions recorded live on Uher stereo tape machine, on the street at Sunset Strip [Whisky A Go Go & the Hamburger Hamlet])
Solo material recorded at Sunset & The Log Cabin. Collective improvisations recorded at The Log Cabin, where Zappa also finalised the material.

(Schenkel occupied accommodation in The Log Cabin during the period this album was produced)

Tan center labels in auto-coupled sequence with Roman numerals; Side I - Side IV & Side II - Side III. [See images]
(1st press has blue labels).

Grey paper "Warner Bros. Records" imprint liners with $2 dollar perforated coupon-response deal in white text.[See images]

Inside cover spread: Frank Zappa production & credit notes (left) & Fischer 'celebrity' chart (right) [See images].

Back Cover "...mental institution..." comment. [See images]
Bizarre (logo)
"Reprise Records, A Division of Warner Bros. - Seven Arts Records, Inc., 4000 Warner Boulevard, Burbank, California, 321 W. 44th Street, New York, New York".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 1, Side I, hand-etched): 2XS-1-6332-WW 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 1, Side IV, hand-etched): 2xS-4-6332-WW 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 2, Side II, hand-etched): 2xS-2-6332-WW 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 2, Side III, hand-etched): 2xS-3-6332-WW 1


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 14, 2015

Every home should have one!


December 7, 2009

Wild Man Fischer could well have been a characterized bi-product of Zappa's astute observations on society. Sadly, he wasn't. Larry is real. A manic-depressive and dysfunctional street busker who performed along LA's Sunset Strip. A scary acid casualty and misunderstood individual, who's mother had him once committed to a mental institution in his teens for singing in his room and attacking her with a knife.

Zappa has assembled 36 tracks on this double vinyl that reveal the inner workings of Fischer's mind, employing accompaniments from the likes of Kim Fowley, members of The GTO's and the MOI. Here too are the beginnings of field recording techniques by Dick Kunc and Zappa that would emerge to full effect a year later on Trout Mask Replica. Fischer's demeanor in the Zappa household finally caused a permanent rift and no further material was produced between the two. However, this album helped put Fischer "The Jackass King...", as Fowley describes him, into the spotlight of celebrity attention. Yes, there's more of this guy out there on other labels.

A must for Zappa collectors, but not an accessible work for the uninitiated. Perhaps start with "The Taster" or "Circle" and proceed inwards...