The Wild Swans ‎– Incandescent

Vinyl 180 ‎– VIN180LP064, Vinyl 180 ‎– VIN180LP065
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue


A1 The Revolutionary Spirit (Original Mix)
A2 God Forbid (Original Mix)
A3 Flowers Of England
A4 The Iron Bed
A5 Opium
A6 Now You're Perfect
B1 No Bleeding
B2 Enchanted
B3 Thirst
B4 The Revolutionary Spirit (USA Stereo Mix)
B5 God Forbid (USA Stereo Mix)
C1 Northern England
C2 Now And Forever
C3 Crowning Glory
C4 Holy Spear
C5 Broken Home (Demo)
C6 Infidel (Demo)
D1 God Forbid (Live)
D2 Miracle Heart (Live)
D3 Now You're Perfect (Live)
D4 Hour Of Need (Live)
D5 Fruits Of The Earth (Live)
D6 The Revolutionary Spirit (Live)

Companies, etc.


This compilation ℗ 2003 Renascent under licence to Vinyl 180.
Tracks A1, A2 ℗ 1982 Zoo Records Ltd.
Tracks A3 to B3 ℗ 1982 BBC
Tracks B4, B5 ℗ 2003 Renascent
Tracks C1 to C4 ℗ 1986 BBC
Tracks C5 to D6 ℗ 2003 Renascent
Released by arrangement with BBC Music.
Made in England.

Rear sleeve notes:
A great collection of songs by a true titan of the Liverpool post punk scene. Sides one and two collect pretty much everything recorded by the original line-up, with both sides of the Zoo single The Revolutionary Spirit / God Forbid, the "lost" US remixes of both tracks and their sessions for the John Peel and Kid Jensen radio shows. Side three has a 1986 session for Janice Long, a demo from the same time plus Infidel, one of the band's first ever demos from 1980. Side four is a live set from the winter '81 tour with Echo And The Bunnymen, a mix desk recording found on cassette and donated by Will Sergeant.

Apart from the original versions of The Revolutionary Spirit, God Forbid and the John Peel Session tracks, none of this music has been released on vinyl before.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 038622 129217
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 112364E1/B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 112364E2/B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): 112364E3/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): 112364E4/A

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
REN CD 7 The Wild Swans Incandescent(2xCD, Comp) Renascent REN CD 7 UK 2003 Sell This Version
VIN180LP065, VIN180LP064 The Wild Swans Incandescent(2xLP, Comp, Ltd, RE, Har) Vinyl 180, Vinyl 180 VIN180LP065, VIN180LP064 UK 2013 Sell This Version