Wire ‎– PF456 Redux

Pinkflag ‎– PF456REDUX
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Compilation


A1 In The Art Of Stopping
A2 I Don't Understand
A3 Comet
A4 Germ Ship
A5 1st Fast
A6 The Agfers Of Kodack
A7 Half Eaten
A8 Being Watched
A9 You Can't Leave Now
B1 Mr Marx's Table
B2 Read And Burn
B3 Spent
B4 Trash / Treasure
B5 Nice Streets
B6 Raft Ants
B7 99.9

Companies, etc.



This is a limited edition vinyl album containing all the material from the CD release of "Send" plus all of the other tracks from "Read & Burn 01 & 02" edited down slightly.

From https://pinkflag.greedbag.com/buy/pf456-redux-0/
"Released at the same time as Send this was a limited edition vinyl album entitled PF456 Redux (pf456redux)(FORMERLY VPF6) which, in true Wire fashion, was an entirely separate item.
In the sprit of a polar opposite to the traditional "DJ friendly triple vinyl" concept the vinyl version of "send" is all the material from the CD release of "Send" plus all of the other tracks from "Read & Burn 01 & 02" edited to their barest essentials."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, etched): PF 456 REDUX A1 MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, etched): PF 456 REDUX B1 MPO


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 4, 2015
If you liked Wire's Read & Burn EPs 1 and 2, but don't enjoy the brutal brickwall-compressed mastering of the CDs, then this release is essential, as it is the only way to get these mostly excellent songs in a halfway listenable form. However, be advised that these are edited down versions. Fortunately, most of the edits are not really noticeable or distracting, save for "Agfers Of Kodack", which is brutally cut down. Fortunately, with Audacity editing software, I was able to restore it to its proper length, as it is one of the strongest tunes on the album.


April 1, 2009

This is exactly what it is: edited mixes of the the 4-6 releases of Pink Flag, R&B 1/2 and Send. I got this in hopes of further satisfying my craving for Wire, but was a bit disappointed. I guess I figured as much, that these were all edits and nothing else to advertise, but when I had read on posteverything dot com that the mixes were 'edited to barest essentials' I thought they meant literally.

Most of the mixes have shaved off maybe 30-40 seconds of material, mostly from the first minute of the songs. Even the lengthy 99.9 managed to remain 5.33 minutes long. The edits aren't anything more interesting than that. Sure, it's a no brainer to expect edits from something clearly marketed as edits, as I wanted to get, but the degree of mixing just wasn't that impressive to me.