Wizz Jones ‎– The Village Thing Tapes

Wundertüte ‎– TUT 72.157
CD, Compilation


1 When I Cease To Care 4:20
2 Legendary Me 3:16
3 Skip Rope Song 3:57
4 If Only I'd Known 2:22
5 Cluck Old Hen 3:22
6 Freudian Slip 4:27
7 Dazzling Stranger 3:06
8 First Girl I Loved 7:00
9 She's Only Waiting 2:39
10 When I Leave Berlin 3:20
11 Country Comfort 6:20
12 Propinquity 3:53
13 Nathaniel 5:01
14 The Man With The Banjo 2:03
15 A Common Or Garden Mystery 3:08
16 Womankind 5:33
17 Living Outside The Law 3:34
18 City Of Angels 5:25


Compilation of 70's material. Mostly tracks from "When I Leave Berlin" & "Happiness Was Free".


Add Review



July 24, 2015
AllMusic Review by Dean McFarlane
The incredibly scarce output of this British folk revival guitarist is somewhat disparate by comparison to his contemporaries John Renbourn and Bert Jansch. Working in a similar pocket to the duo mentioned, Wizz Jones is highly regarded in the folk revival circuit with nods of due respect from Roy Harper and Ralph McTell over the years. With a couple of major releases a string of independent CDs, singles, and LPs, most of his releases are very hard to come by or are exchanged in collector circles for extraordinary high prices. This archival release from Germany features some variations on songs that are available on his two Scenescof releases and the Magical Flight LP recorded here live in concert. His fingerpicking guitar is absolutely golden, and his voice, which could sub for Burt Jansch on any night, is glorious. Fans of authentic folk and blues should definitely delve into the work of Wizz Jones; don't let the scarcity of this recording put you off. There are three readily available albums -- Magical Flight, Dazzling Stranger and Right Now -- which feature most of these tracks yet lack a special air of intimacy that this live recording holds.