Yoko Ono / The Plastic Ono Band ‎– Yoko Ono / Plastic Ono Band

Rykodisc ‎– RCD 10414
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Why 5:37
2 Why Not 9:55
3 Greenfield Morning I Pushed An Empty Baby Carriage All Over The City 5:38
Bass – Charles Haden*, David IzenzonDrums – Edward Blackwell*Trumpet – Ornette Coleman
5 Touch Me 4:37
6 Paper Shoes 7:26
Bonus Tracks
7 Open Your Box
Bass – Klaus VoormannDrums – Ringo StarrElectric Guitar – John LennonEngineer – Eddie Veal, Eddie Offord*Producer – John & Yoko*Vocals – Yoko Ono
8 "Something More Abstract"
Bass – Klaus VoormannDrums – Ringo StarrGuitar – John LennonVocals – Yoko Ono
9 The South Wind
Acoustic Guitar – John LennonVocals – Yoko Ono

Companies, etc.



Reissue of the 1970 LP.

Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, October 1970.
"AOS" is from a rehearsal tape for show at Albert Hall with Ornette Coleman, February 1968.
Track 7 previously unreleased version.
Track 8 previously unreleased. From Plastic Ono Band sessions.
Track 9 previously unreleased. Recorded on 1/4" tape in New York City.

Contains an individual edition numbered insert.

© + ℗ 1997 Yoko Ono. Manufactured and marketed by Rykodisc under exclusive license.
Printed in the USA. Manufactured in Canada.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 014431041426
  • Mastering SID Code (Mirrored): IFPI L483
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 8142
  • Matrix / Runout (Mirrored): DADR 0Z8N3<0910>RCD10414
  • Label Code: LC 2619


Reviews Show All 10 Reviews

Add Review



August 18, 2018
John must have really LOVED yoko to put albums like this out.
Rykodisc mentions that the 1970 LP was released to “almost universal disdain”. I can see why.
Poor Ringo was dragged into this cacophony.


January 3, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

Warning !

I mention it because no one seems to signal it or to be moved in the comments ... Careful : There are two albums "Plastic Ono Band", with exactly the same cover, with nothing written on it, except that the titles inside are not the same ... one of John Lennon and another of Yoko Ono. So it is very easy to make the mistake !

The Plastic Ono Band album from John Lennon contains those titles:

1. Mother
2. Hold On
3. I Found Out
4. Working Class Hero
5. Insulation
6. Remember
7. Love
8. Well Well Well
9. Look at Me
10. God
11. My Mummy's Dead

Bonus tracks:

12. Power to the People
13. Do the Oz

And the one from Yoko Ono contains these titles:

1. Why
2. Why Not
3. Greenfield Morning I Pushed Empty Baby Carriage All Over The City
4. AOS
5. Touch Me
6. Paper Shoes

Bonus Tracks:

7. Open Your Box
8. Something More Abstract
9. The South Wind

Thanks to Lennon and Ono for confusing us like that! It's almost dishonest ! That can fool buyers and lead them making mistakes, those who don't make search by bar code but only by titles (and they are many !)

I wanted to buy John Lennon's Plastic Ono Band and accidentally, not knowing there was another one, I bought the one from Yoko Ono !!

Nobody warns on the Internet against the possible confusion between those two albums, that's why I do it here.