Zach Hill ‎– Astrological Straits

Anticon ‎– ABR0086
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Iambic Strays
Flute – Katelyn ReevesGuitar, Bass, Piano, Synthesizer – Zach Hill
A2 Toll Road
Bass – Carson McWhirterGuitar – Robby MoncriefGuitar, Bass, Piano, Synthesizer – Zach HillVocals – Zac Nelson
A3 Street People
Bass, Synthesizer, Cornet – Zach HillBugle – John Reed Thompson*Guitar – Josh Hill (3)
A4 Dark Art
Cornet – Katelyn ReevesElectric Piano, Melodica – Zach HillGuitar – Josh Hill (3)Guitar, Bass – John Reed Thompson*
B1 Keep Calm And Carry On
Bass [Synth Bass & Regular Bass] – Jonathan HischkeLoops – Zach HillSounds [Guitar Sample] – RT ThomasVocals – Camillo Moreno*
B2 Hindsight Is Nowhere
Bass – Carson McWhirterKeyboards – Zach HillProgrammed By, Effects – Tyler Pope
B3 Ummer
Bass – Dean Spuntz*Guitar – Randy RandallGuitar [Guitar Solo] – Dan ElkanProgrammed By – Zach HillVoice – Gwen Thompson, Luke Thompson (2)
B4 Stoic Logic
Guitar – Randy RandallGuitar [Baritone Guitar] – Dean Spuntz*Guitar, Backing Vocals – Dan Elkan
C1 Uhuru
Gong – Zach HillGuitar – Robby MoncriefRecorded By [Second Movement] – Carson McWhirter, John Reed Thompson*
C2 Momentum
Bass [Synth Bass & Regular Bass] – Jonathan HischkeGuitar – Robby MoncriefStrings [Mamola], Keyboards – Zach Hill
D1 Unseen Forces
Bass, Keyboards, Trumpet, Guitar, Effects – Zach HillGuitar, Trumpet – John Reed Thompson*Saxophone – Steve Borth*
D2 Tick On
Bass – John Reed Thompson*Bass, Piano – Zach HillSaxophone – Steve Borth*
D3 Astrological Straits
Bass – Les ClaypoolGuitar – Josh Hill (3), John Reed Thompson*, Robby Moncrief

Companies, etc.



Limited to 1000 copies.
Includes insert with artwork and credits.

Recorded at Retrofit Recording, Sacramento, California.

All songs Zach Hill Music, BMI.

©&℗ 2008 Anticon Records. Under License From Ipecac Recordings

Tracks are numbered 1-13 on the release.

Track times do not appear on the release.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 56605 85941 5
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Stamped): PIRATES PRESS ABR0086 A 77686E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Stamped): PIRATES PRESS ABR0086 B 77686E2/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, Stamped): PIRATES PRESS ABR0086 C 77686E3/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, Stamped): PIRATES PRESS ABR0086 D 77686E4/A
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



January 20, 2018

A really great experimental album. It is definitely not Zach Hill's best, but it is great nonetheless. I am quite disappointed in my physical copy, which has very noticeable surface noise in certain tracks, including "Dart Art", which seems to have some odd lack of clarity and cymbal reverb that is definitely not in the digital version. I'm fairly certain that the newer copies of this album are not originals and I am assuming that this is why the master sounds poor at some points. Many tracks are fine though. I can't really recommend a physical copy of this album unless you can get one that is definitely an original due to these issues and the omission of "Necromancer" from the all of the vinyl pressings.


February 16, 2017
Can anyone confirm if this is actually limited to 1000 copies? It seems a little too common to only have that many copies in circulation. I know Fucked Up Friends by Tobacco, another album on Anticon, was originally limited to 1000 copies on vinyl but they ended up pressing more quietly when the second hand prices shot up.


May 7, 2015
edited over 3 years ago
I bought this record today knowing zach only through his work through Death Grips and Hella, but I must say that this is an absolute monster of an album. It channels the energy of Hella while adding a personal twist only Zach Hill can do. Be on the lookout for a copy.