Zanov ‎– Green Ray

Polydor ‎– 2393 151
Vinyl, LP, Album


Companies, etc.


  • Keyboards, Synthesizer [A.R.P. Synthétiseurs], Written-ByZanov
  • Photography By [Photo]Claude Petit
  • Producer [Produit Par]A. Gross*


Enregistré à [Recorded at] Zanov Studio 1976.

Claviers et A.R.P. Synthétiseurs [Keyboards and A.R.P. Synthesizers] Gaffarel Musique Paris.

℗ 1976
Made in France

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): 2393 151 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): 2393 151 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped - Variant 1): POL 2393 151 1Y 380 CIDIS A2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped - Variant 1): POL 2393 151 2Y 380 CIDIS A2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped - Variant 2): POL 2393 151 1Y 380 CIDIS A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped - Variant 2): POL 2393 151 2Y 380 CIDIS A3
  • Other (Droits Réservés): D. R.
  • Price Code: Ⓨ

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Zanov Green Ray(CDr, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label none France Unknown Sell This Version
LPS206 Zanov Green Ray(LP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM + 7", EP) Wah Wah Records LPS206 Spain 2018 Sell This Version
GR-228 Zanov Green Ray(CD, Album, RE) Groove Unlimited GR-228 Netherlands 2016 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 17, 2012
edited over 4 years ago

Zanov is one of the great recent electronic discovery of mine. Apparently Zanov was really Pierre Zalkazanov (turns out his name is actually Pierre Salkazanov, so it was obvious a misspelling on his albums), who recorded three albums of electronic music between 1976 and 1983, the first two on Polydor, in which Green Ray is the first. Here he takes a spacy, minimalist approach, with an often droning, mechanical approach, utilizing an ARP 2600 (actually it's one full ARP 2600, and a second ARP 2600 with just the control panel connected to something I'm unable to identify, although I presume the percussion sounds, as those percussion sounds sound like they came from an ARP 2600), plus a VCS-3. There are only three cuts here. The title track shows that nice spacy minimalist approach, while "Machine Desperation", naturally has a mechanical, pulsing tone to it, with a rather disturbing and ominous feel. "Running Beyond a Dream" features some spacy passages, electronic effects, and at times parts reminding me a little of Tim Blake's Crystal Machine (but more mechanical than what Blake would come up with). This album really blew me away, and like Zanov's two other albums, as well as Patrick Vian's Bruits et Temps Analogues and Anna Själv Tredje's Tussilago Fanfara (all great electronic gems), not available as a CD reissue (update: the Patrick Vian album has since been reissued), so like those other albums, better hold on to your turntables.