Zapp ‎– Zapp VI Back By Popular Demand

Zapp Town ‎– 5271881952
CD, Album


This CD is dedicated to Roger Troutman

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 652718819520


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 3, 2018
edited 2 months ago
01. M.C.: Robert "Bigg Robb" Smith
02. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Anthony "AK" King
03. Lead Vocals: Bart "Sure 2 B" Thomas & Greg "Zeek" Jackson
04. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Keith Leak
05. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Greg "Zeek" Jackson, Rap: Chris 'Dialect' Strickland, Damian 'D' Phoenix
06. -
07. Lead Vocals: Nicole Cottom, Rap: Damien "Dee" Phoenix
08. Lead Vocals: Nicole Bottom, Greg "Zeek" Jackson, Rap: Robert "Bigg Robb" Smith
09. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Pastor Ronald "Diamond" Hoard, Shirley Murdock
10. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman
11. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Dave Scott, Rap: Eric "Craigskee" Graig
12. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Greg "Zerk" Jackson, Rap: Lester Troutman Jr.
13. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Keith Leak, Greg "Zeek" Jackson, Rap: Eric "Graigskee" Graig
14. Talk Box: Zapp Troutman, Lead Vocals: Dale DeGroat

That CD is a have must !!!

. . . and "ZAPP VII" is out NOW :-)


August 16, 2011
The Lowdown - CD reviews

Written by Barry Towler

When I had a phone call back in Easter 1999 informing me that Roger Troutman had been shot I was devastated. To find that his brother, Larry, had done this was doubly devastating. Roger was (and still is) one of my musical heroes and his tragic passing has left a gaping hole in soul and funk music. His unique blend of Funk, Soul, Blues, Pop and good old fashioned foot-stomping Rock n Roll was always layered with an immense sense of humour. This was ever so evident on their music, and their marvellous stage shows. Roger delivered the most soulful of songs (Shirley Murdock’s "As We Lay"), the funkiest (Zapp’s "It Doesn’t Really Matter") and the jazziest (his own "Composition to Remember") as well as his excellent productions for New Horizon, Bobby Glover, Sugarfoot, Human Body, Phajja and Curtis Mayfield being just a few.
So, the remaining brothers have stepped forward with a new album, Zapp VI - Back by popular demand. So what’s the verdict then, from someone who loved Roger so much? IT IS SUPERB. The gang have done their late brothers justice by this album, and I know both that Roger and Larry will be proudly listening to this as I am. We know that the group will never be exactly the same again, but the legacy continues in the most splendid manner indeed. In fact, I would rate this album as highly as their Zapp IV album and that is saying something. If you bought the superb Max Flava CD back in 2000 then you will love the perfect mix of uptempo fun filled Funkers and bassy-sublime love jams.
The album kicks off with a serious vocoder-filled Zapp Jam in "You’ve Got Mail" – described by the group and DJs alike as "Computer Love on steriods"! Essentially if you love "Computer Love" you will love this modern take based on the internet and its opportunities for love. I cannot recommend it enough and I thoroughly recommend the clarion call from band member Bigg Robb in the intro who asks us all to TURN THIS UP!!! Damn right I did and I’ve been pumping the volume up ever since!!!
Another funky bass-pin rumbler is the KILLER Say You Will, Say You Won’t" which is, again, classic Zapp material. Roger and Larry must be swelling with pride with this material and rightly so. Sexy, sultry and the vocals are raw and ultra soulful. The ballad cut, "I Wanna Love You" features the impressive Keith Leak on vocals and Zapp Troutman on talkbox. A massive smile broke over my face when I heard "She’s About To Roll" because it smacks so much of classic early 80s Zapp jams – "More Bounce To The Ounce" and stuff of that calibre. I just love it!
The cheerful tapper, "The Way You Walk And Move" is another credit and features a lovely vocalist in the fresh sounding Nicole Cottom. Zapp gets jazzy on "If You Would Love Me" and pay homage to their brother on the gentle "This Is Our Song To You". A real 80s outing follows with "Be With You Forever" with its mid 80s flavour, tinkly keyboard, guitar and vocoder. "Late Night Fantasy", "Zapp Is Back" and "Get Up Off The Wall" uphold the funkier side of the group and the album concludes on a really classy note with the Dale DeGroat led song "I’ve Finally Found What I’ve Been Searching For" which features the wonderful Shirley Murdock on backing vocals. This song will be adored not only by lifelong fans of the group, funksters as well as quality soul lovers. This CD is available from CD Baby and I can do nothing but recommend it. Welcome back!!!