Zero 7 ‎– Simple Things

Quango Records ‎– QMG 5007-2, Palm Pictures ‎– QMG 5007-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 I Have Seen
Vocals – Mozez
2 Polaris 4:48
3 Destiny
Vocals – Sia Furler, Sophie Barker
4 Give It Away 5:17
5 Simple Things
Vocals – Mozez
6 Red Dust 5:40
7 Distractions
Vocals – Sia Furler
8 In The Waiting Line
Vocals – Sophie Barker
9 Out Of Town 4:47
10 This World
Vocals – Mozez
11 Likufanele 6:11
12 End Theme 3:39
13 Salt Water Sound 5:30
14 Spinning
Vocals – Sophie Barker

Companies, etc.


Info on inlay and disc face:
℗ & © 2001 Mushroom Records (UK) Limited d/b/a Ultimate Dilemma Records. [...] Printed and manufactured in the USA. Manufactured and marketed by Palm under exclusive license. Palm Pictures, LLC, 601 W. 26 Street, 11th Floor, New York, NY 10001.

Tracks 13 & 14 ("Salt Water Sound", "Spinning") are bonus tracks not available on the original UK LP/CASS/CD albums. These two tracks are the sole b-sides from the 2001 'I Have Seen' 12"/CD single.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 660200500726
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 & 3): wea mfg. OLYPHANT Y17569 A4 P2 5007-2 01 M0S1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): wea mfg. OLYPHANT Y17569 A4 P2 5007-2 01 M1S3
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1-3): IFPI L903
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2U8D
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2U3G
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 2U7E

Other Versions (5 of 25) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
UDRCD016 Zero 7 Simple Things(CD, Album, Dig) Ultimate Dilemma UDRCD016 UK 2001 Sell This Version
UDRLP016 Zero 7 Simple Things(2xLP, Album) Ultimate Dilemma UDRLP016 UK 2001 Sell This Version
5050466 8901 2 2 Zero 7 Simple Things(CD, Album, RE) Ultimate Dilemma 5050466 8901 2 2 UK & Europe 2003 Sell This Version
P2 05007 Zero 7 Simple Things(CD, Album) Quango Records, Ultimate Dilemma, Palm Pictures P2 05007 Canada 2001 Sell This Version
UDRCD 016, 726.1016.020 Zero 7 Simple Things(CD, Album, Dig) Ultimate Dilemma, Play It Again Sam [PIAS] UDRCD 016, 726.1016.020 Europe 2001 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 28, 2011

In the future, when someone is writing the history of downtempo, Zero 7 will surely make an appearance for their debut album, SIMPLE THINGS. It has the same classic quality that Air's MOON SAFARI, though it takes a different tack. Instead of remaining in space, it bounces from emotion to emotion: from the calm beauty of "I Have Seen" to the melancholia of "Polaris" (which also features a prominent funk breakdown!). Even better, this is the album that introduced Sia's voice to the wider world, and her appearances mark high points: "Destiny" has a powerful soul-inflected romanticism; "Distractions," which is even better, shows Sia putting the full-force of her emotions behind her cry of 'I love you.' Mozez also offers his strong tenor to the creeping sadness of the title track, as well as the heartbreaking "This World." Though some may contend that this album eases too much towards the soft, adult-contemporary side of things, I'd argue that the careful placement of the sweeping strings and horn sections (as on "Out of Town") make this album more akin to Burt Bacharach than your what's offered on those snoozy radio stations. Besides, you most likely won't hear the South African women's choir The Mothers, as you do here on "Likufanele." The American version of the album also includes two bonus tracks, most notably, "Spinning," which showcases Sophie Barker at her lullaby best. Simple, and yet sublime.


November 18, 2005
edited over 12 years ago

There are variety of ways to describe this album. One way is that it is the soundtrack to a retro-futuristic cool cat film where the city lights are like Tokyo's yet the fashion and decor sense is a return to New York/Los Angeles of the 1970s. Another is the Starbucks soundtrack that will never be. A favourite of mine is that this is the alternate to listening to a "smooth jazz" radio station.

It's a soulful mix of soul, jazz and electro. The vocals are great (although personally I'm not particularly fond of Sia Furler at certain moments) and the arrangements are right on the money for this type of "retro-techno" sound. I sometimes get confused if it's a smooth jazz combo trying to be electronic or an electronic group trying to be smooth jazz. Either way, it's a relax listen after a hard day at the office or whilst being in the office. Just pretend that you are sitting on a plush lounge chair instead of a hard, lumbar support, correcto-posture office chair =]