Zhaoze ‎– Yesternight Yes Tonight = 琴晚

Not On Label ‎– none
CD, Album, + DVD


1 17:00 The Worthless / 酉時 廢柴 5:06
2 19:00 See You In The Dusk / 戌時 人約黃昏後 6:19
3 21:00 Stars In My Closing Eyes / 亥時 閉上眼望星 8:27
4 23:00 Lonely Shadow Would Dance / 子時 孑影舞 5:11
5 01:00 Two Dimensions 2015 / 丑時 二維 乙未篇 6:11
6 03:00 Sleepy Child Sweety Smile / 寅時 稚兒笑 4:00
7 05:00 Early Bird / 卯時 早鳥 5:33


It's the first album recorded with an eletrical Guqin on the world.
Hoyliang had been playing electric Guqin quite many years, but it is the first time that he used it to record an album, while he had record the earlier albums with the acoustic Guqin.

Although Guqin is the most traditional chinese string instrument with more than 3000 years history, Zhaoze think that Guqin can be played in a contemporary way, and Guqin can also use to describe the emotions and stories of nowadays, like they did in this album.
It is a concept album, they came up an idea that setting background in Guangzhou, a modern city, and telling 7 different stories of 7 different people happened during sunset in 5 p.m. to sun rise in 5 a.m..

What’s interesting about this album is that the cantonese pronunciation of the album’s Chinese name——“qin wan” is a homophone for the Chinese words——“yesternight”, although the meaning of “qin wan” is “the night of Qin” (Qin is Guqin’s ancient name).

It's mainly instrumental, but 1 song with lyrics in both cantonese and mandarin, and 1 song with lyrics in english. Hoyliang said, chose different language to writing the lyrics, also can be regarded as a symbol, as Guangzhou is also a multi language environment.

And, there are 5 songs that Hoyliang used a cello bow to play the Guqin, and there are 3 songs that he played Xiao, a kind of chinese flute. Seasean had been playing the glockenspiel while he‘d been playing drums simultaneously in 5 songs. Roy had played melodica in the last song, after he playing it in the album Cang Lang Xing 5 years ago.

This time Zhaoze no more limited in its usual Guqin mixing Post-rock style, tried to blend with more new elements in its music, like Post-punk, Canton-rock, Shoegaze, Folk, Math-rock, Jazz, Classical, etc..

The album is including with CD and DVD with the same length of time. The DVD part is a some kind new style video that difficult to classify, it's a documentary about partial recording process, and is also a virtual concert about peforming of the album, which filming in the rooftop of a building, while it is also a scenery video of Guangzhou's streets views.

The first release of the album in China is a USB disk special version, and the sleeve is a cup which can also be taken to drink.