Zircon Lounge & Chris Ho (3) ‎– Regal Vigor

WEA Records Pte Ltd. ‎– 2292 502264-1
Vinyl, LP

Tracklist Hide Credits

Regal Vigor
A1 Shivers, Shivers 5:39
A2 Myself to Myself
Written By – Romeo Void
A3 Savior 3:12
A4 Tight Rope 3:52
A5 Sweet Jane / Notes From "The Thief's Journal"
Written By – Jean Genet, Lou Reed
Point of Departure
B1 4 Hours 3:31
B2 Chanachai 4:05
B3 Cover Your Eyes 3:51
B4 Strangers 4:15
B5 Sweet Jane (Version)
Written By – Lou Reed



Regal Vigor, the band's debut album, was released by Warner Music Singapore (WEA) in late 1983. Consisting of three covers—Romeo Void's "Myself to Myself" and two of the Velvet Underground's "Sweet Jane"—and seven original songs, Regal Vigor was co-produced by Dick Lee, and featured guest spots from Anita Sarawak, Jacintha Abisheganaden and Broery Marantika. Two songs, "Savior" and the Thai-influenced "Chanachai", were released as singles.

Upon its release, Regal Vigor was heralded by The Straits Times' Richard Lim as "the boldest venture ever in the history of local recording", and Zircon Lounge as "the only local band who's got a firm grasp of what rock 'n' roll is all about". Zircon Lounge was also billed as "Singapore's Most Exciting Group", and their live shows were compared to the Velvet Underground's and called "the first time [in Singapore] that a band has gone out of its way to challenge the audience".

To promote the album, Zircon Lounge played a one-week stint at The Rainbow on Cuscaden Road, alongside American funk band New Joy and Australian group Cut Glass. Their live repertoire included covers of Joy Division's "Transmission" and Lou Reed's "Street Hassle".

In May 1984, Zircon Lounge was dropped by their label as Regal Vigor had only sold about 1,000 copies. In comparison, a Tracy Huang album sold an average of 50,000 copies.