Larry Van Kriedt

Real Name:
Larry Van Kriedt
Larry Van Kriedt (born in the United States c.1954) was the first bassist with rock band AC/DC. He was recruited at the time of the group's formation in 1973, joining Malcolm Young (Rhythm Guitar), Angus Young (Lead Guitar), Dave Evans (Lead Vocals) and Colin Burgess (Drums). Van Kriedt also played occasional saxophone.

Van Kriedt has played many different styles of music and has been involved with making many albums both as an artist and as a producer, and to this day he owns and operates his own recording studio. Bands Van Kriedt was a member of include: The Eighty Eights, Non Stop Dancers, Def Fx, Afram, The LPs, and The Larry Van Kriedt Quartet. He has written and recorded songs that have been successful in Australia, Japan, New Zealand, the U.S. and Europe, and has worked in North Africa and toured all over the world.

From 1997 to 1999 he lived in Morocco, working there as a musician with his band Afram doing radio, television and concerts such as the first Gnawa Festival in Essaouira in 1998, and raising money for the charity, B.A.Y.T.I. After leaving Morocco he travelled the world busking, that is, playing jazz on the street from London to Provence to Sydney. This was when he started making backing tracks of jazz standards.

In 2002 Van Kriedt pioneered the first online downloadable jazz playalong backing track e-business,

In 2007 he is found working with Paul Agbakoba in The LPs.
In Groups:



RML 53191 Larry Van Kriedt - Dancing Daze. Rock Soundtrack From The ABC TV Series album art Various Casanova Club Various - Dancing Daze. Rock Soundtrack From The ABC TV Series(LP, Album) ABC Records (3) RML 53191 Australia 1986 Sell This Version