Bananarama was formed in London in 1981 by childhood friends Keren Woodward and Sarah Dallin and their friend Siobhan Fahey.
After a debut single produced by former Sex Pistols member Paul Cook that shook the UK pop market to its very foundation (a #92 smash), they teamed up with ex Specials member Terry Hall's new band, Fun Boy Three. "It Ain't What You Do", released in February 1982 entered the UK charts at number 4.
International success came with their self-titled second album produced by Tony Swain and Steve Jolley and the monster hit single "Cruel Summer".

In 1986, the girls teamed up with UK dance music super-producers Stock, Aitken & Waterman and achieved number one all around the world, including the US, with their cover of the Shocking Blue's classic "Venus". In 1988, the trio were named by the Guinness Book of Records as the most successful female group in pop history, beating Supremes. They celebrated by releasing a SAW-produced version of the Supremes' "Nathan Jones". After the single's release however, Fahey decided to leave the trio to form Shakespear's Sister. She was replaced by Jacquie O'Sullivan who had appeared with the original Bananarama line-up in the Eurythmics video for "Who's That Girl", back in June 1983. O'Sullivan left in late 1991.
Sara and Keren have since continued as a duo.

Following a one-off reunion recording of ABBA's "Waterloo" with Siobhan in April 1998 for Channel 4's "Eurotrash" TV series hosted by Jean Paul Gaultier, the duo returned in 2001 with their 8th studio album, Exotica. In February 2002, Bananarama celebrated their 20th anniversary, joined on-stage by Siobhan. Their 2005 club hit "Move In My Direction" is their first UK single release since 1993.

All through their career the girls have, together or individually, married Eurythmics' male half (David A. Stewart), dated Wham!'s straight half (Andrew Ridgeley), reached the UK top 3 with French and Saunders, appeared on both the original Band Aid and Band Aid II, met Robert De Niro, shot a Japanese commercial with Peter Fonda and appeared in the movie Rules Of Attraction.

Bananarama Discography


RAMA 1 Bananarama Deep Sea Skiving (Album) London Records RAMA 1 Scandinavia 1983 Sell This Version
RAMA 2, 820 036-2, KRAMC 2 Bananarama Bananarama (Album, Comp) London Records RAMA 2, 820 036-2, KRAMC 2 UK 1984 Sell This Version
L25P 1234 Bananarama True Confessions (Album, Comp) London Records L25P 1234 Japan 1986 Sell This Version
828 061-1, RAMA 4 Bananarama Wow! (Album, Comp, Single) London Records 828 061-1, RAMA 4 Greece 1987 Sell This Version
828 246-1 Bananarama Pop Life (Album, Comp) FFRR 828 246-1 Greece 1991 Sell This Version
828357 4 Bananarama Please Yourself (Album, Comp) London Records 828357 4 UK 1992 Sell This Version
ZYX 20378-2 Bananarama Ultra Violet (Album) Mega Records ZYX 20378-2 Germany 1995 Sell This Version
M6I 1721.2 Bananarama Exotica(CD, Album) M6 Interactions M6I 1721.2 France 2001 Sell This Version
CDRPM 1911 Bananarama Drama (Album) A&G Productions CDRPM 1911 South Africa 2005 Sell This Version
none Bananarama Viva (Album) Fascination none UK 2009 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

100 178 Bananarama Aie A Mwana (Single) Demon Records 100 178 France 1981 Sell This Version
P Nana 2 Bananarama Shy Boy (Single, Maxi) London Records P Nana 2 Portugal 1982 Sell This Version
SO7P 1025 Bananarama He's Got Tact London Records SO7P 1025 Japan 1982 Sell This Version
NANX 1, DMX 446 Bananarama Featuring Fun Boy Three Bananarama Featuring Fun Boy Three - Really Sayin' Somethin' / Aie A Mwana (Single) London Records, London Records NANX 1, DMX 446 UK 1982 Sell This Version
NANX 1, Nanx 1 Bananarama & Fun Boy Three Bananarama & Fun Boy Three - Really Saying Something (Single, Maxi) Deram, Deram NANX 1, Nanx 1 UK 1982 Sell This Version
NANA 3 Bananarama Cheers Then (Single) London Records NANA 3 UK 1982 Sell This Version
104 052 The Fun Boy Three* With Bananarama The Fun Boy Three* With Bananarama - It Aint What You Do.... (Single) Chrysalis 104 052 Netherlands 1982 Sell This Version
FB 30-JB Funkpolitan* / Bananarama Funkpolitan* / Bananarama - Run Run Run / Really Saying Something(7", Promo) Decca FB 30-JB Italy 1982 Sell This Version
6198 534 Fun Boy Three, The* / Fun Boy Three With Bananarama Fun Boy Three, The* / Fun Boy Three With Bananarama - The Lunatics (Have Taken Over The Asylum) / It Ain't What You Do It's The Way That You Do It(7", Single) Chrysalis 6198 534 Greece 1982 Sell This Version
Party 5 Elvis Costello And The Attractions* With The Royal Guard Horns / Bananarama Elvis Costello And The Attractions* With The Royal Guard Horns / Bananarama - Party Party / No Feelings(7", Promo) A&M Records Party 5 UK 1982 Sell This Version
0030.594 Bananarama Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye (Single, Maxi) London Records 0030.594 Germany 1983 Sell This Version
886 057-7 Bananarama Cruel Summer (Single, Maxi, EP) London Records, London Records 886 057-7 US 1983 Sell This Version
AS 5000 647 Robin Gibb / Bananarama Robin Gibb / Bananarama - Juliet / Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye(7", Promo) PolyGram AS 5000 647 Italy 1983 Sell This Version
820 081-1 Bananarama Rough Justice (Single, Maxi) London Records 820 081-1 Belgium 1984 Sell This Version
882 020-1 Bananarama Hot Line To Heaven (Single, Maxi) London Records 882 020-1 Netherlands 1984 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 12 Reviews

Add Review



December 26, 2015
edited 5 months ago
"I found love" was a great track. The 1995 album was nice. For me Bananarama is dead after this album. Now they are like two bitches with stupid music. I know that everybody use photoshop and plastic surgery, but it's boring.


January 13, 2015
edited 11 months ago
The 'idea' that Bananrama are talentless is as old as it is overly repeated.
With the right songwriting partners and or producers they'd have it all again.


November 22, 2010
edited over 4 years ago
Personally i would and never really do blame bananarama for making a few weak albums in the last few years,much of the blame is on the producer(s),the song writing and that person who has no-idea in choosing proper singles,bananarama really need to find a producer who has talent and a vision,trying to sound like everyone else is not a benefit but will be their undoing,i'm starting to fear that bananarama are become much too Over-produced to the point of being boring and desperate,this latest production is basically kissing up and bowing to the Late night club kids,bananarama as i see it really need to get back with Siobhan and some very cutting edge producers who believe in the ladies and what their doing or hope to do before no one remotely cares.... Swedish production/producers might be an idea or better yet pete hammond


March 12, 2010
Bananarama are a mystery to me, they couldn't sing, couldn't dance, weren't pretty and had some really atrocious material to work with. Its a total mystery how they ever managed to get any success at all.

Videos (121) Edit