Pop - punk band

Based in Chicago, IL, U.S.
Formed in 1989 by Screeching Weasel members Dan Schafer (vocals) and Brian Vermin (drums). The line up was rounded out by Adam White (guitar), Dave McLean (guitar) and Mike "Strat" Hootenstrat (bass). The band became a fulltime endevour after Vermin quit Screeching Weasel and convinced Schafer to follow suit. The band's sound was mostly catagorized as pop punk with sometimes melancholy lyrics, although there was a growing influence of funk that was best exemplified on the B-side of the band's sole LP, 1991's "What's This?". This interest in funk proved to be the breaking point for the band, with Schafer wanting to continue with the band's pop punk sound while other members wanted to pursue the funk direction. Following a self-released 7" in 1992, the band announced their break up, with their last show being played in early 1993, by which time Schafer has already rejoined a reunited Screeching Weasel. The rest of the band would form Ethyline (initially called Pound) with a new vocalist. In 1995, Lookout! Records released a Sludgeworth compilation which featured a number of previously unreleased recordings that where rumored to be part of a second LP that never materialized. In recent years, the band has played a few reunion shows around Chicago.



Sludgeworth - What's This? album art Sludgeworth What's This? (Album) Johanns Face Records US 1991 Sell This Version
Sludgeworth - Insubordination Fest '08 album art Sludgeworth Insubordination Fest '08 (Album) Insubordination Records US 2009 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

RDK-006 Sludgeworth - Sludgeworth album art Sludgeworth Sludgeworth(7", EP) Roadkill Records (3) RDK-006 US 1990 Sell This Version
SLR 1 Sludgeworth - Brightside album art Sludgeworth Brightside(7", Single) Not On Label (Sludgeworth Self-released) SLR 1 US 1992 Sell This Version


LOOKOUT! 131CD Sludgeworth - Losers Of The Year album art Sludgeworth Losers Of The Year(CD, Comp) Lookout! Records LOOKOUT! 131CD US 1995 Sell This Version