Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri

Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri (1949-2002) is a Finnish orchestra, comprising 97 musicians. It was formerly known as Tampereen Orkesteri (1929-1947), nowadays known as Tampere Filharmonia (2002- ).

Tampereen Orkesteri was founded in 1930 and in the beginning it comprised 34 musicians, conducted by Elias Kyander. Its first concert was on January 6, 1930. In the mid-1940's the city took over the orchestra, and on January 9, 1947 was the opening concert of Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri , lead by Eero Kosonen. In 1976 Tampereen kaupunginorkesteri made its first recording, 4th Symphony of Kalevi Aho. In 2002 the name of the orchestra was changed to Tampere Filharmonia.

1929-1932 Elias Kyander
1932-1968 Eero Kosonen
1968-1973 Juhani Raiskinen
1973-1974 Jouko Saari
1974-1987 Paavo Rautio
1987-1990 Atso Almila
1989-1990 Ari Rasilainen
1990-1998 Leonid Grin
1998-2006 Eri Klas (Conductor Laureate from 2006)
2006-2009 John Storgårds (Chief Conductor)
2009-???? Hannu Lintu (Chief Conductor)


Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri Discography Tracks

Singles & EPs

7243-8670332 Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri - Energiaa album art Neljä Ruusua Hyvät Ajat (Live) Neljä Ruusua - Energiaa(CD, Single) Parlophone 7243-8670332 Finland 1994 Sell This Version


Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri - Energiaa album art Neljä Ruusua Luen and 5 more… Neljä Ruusua - Energiaa (Comp, Album) Parlophone Finland 1994 Sell This Version
V 96012 VV3 Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri - Suuret Suomalaiset Mieslaulajat album art Various Illalle Op. 17 Nro 6 and 6 more… Various - Suuret Suomalaiset Mieslaulajat(3xCD, Comp + Box) Valitut Palat V 96012 VV3 Finland 1996 Sell This Version
V13018VV Tampereen Kaupunginorkesteri - Joulun Taikaa album art Various Kun Joulu On Various - Joulun Taikaa(5xCD, Comp) Valitut Palat V13018VV Finland 2014 Sell This Version