In Absentia

Being active from 1990 to 1996, In Absentia was part of the early Danish electronic music movement, kick-started by EBM-pioneer Leæther Strip.

In Absentia signed their first full-length CD contract in 1993 with Hard Records, and subsequently released 2 more albums, of which one was licensed to German Subtronic Records. During the years In Absentia was also well-represented on compilations globally. After the release of the debut album, Absence, Michael Ellwood left the band.

In 1996 the band was too occupied with other matters than music, and decided to split up. Tracks for a forthcoming album, Link, had been prepared, but the band members decided that it was time to stop the game.

In 2012 the first spark of life reignited as In Absentia showed op on the tracklist for the german band Blitzmaschine's EP "Useless Pain", with a remix of the track "Vorwärts". First new track in 16 years was presented on the Danish compilation Cyberworld XX that was released 20th October 2012. In 2013 they delivered a remix to Leæther Strip's compilation 'Yes I'm Limited VI' of the track Paranoia Nr13 (Lobotomix By In Absentia).

In Absentia is currently working on material for a new album.


none In Absentia - The Scourge Of Violence album art In Absentia The Scourge Of Violence(Cass, Dem) Not On Label none Denmark 1991 Sell This Version
HARDEST 04 In Absentia - Absence album art In Absentia Absence(CD, Album) Hard Records HARDEST 04 Denmark 1993 Sell This Version
HARDEST 09 In Absentia - Deviance album art In Absentia Deviance(CD, Album) Hard Records HARDEST 09 Denmark 1994 Sell This Version
SUB 041 In Absentia - Darkness album art In Absentia Darkness(CD, Album) Subtronic Records SUB 041 Germany 1995 Sell This Version
none In Absentia - Involution II (German Edition) album art In Absentia Involution II (German Edition)(Cass, Album) Not On Label (In Absentia Self-Released) none Germany Unknown Sell This Version

Videos (18) Edit