Ministry is the brainchild of Al Jourgensen. The band started in 1981 playing synth pop in the vein of Depeche Mode. They released their first 12" on Wax Trax! Records, before being signed to Arista to release their debut "With Sympathy" (1983). After a falling out with the label and the direction of the project, Jourgensen returned to Wax Trax! Records to release a series of 12" Singles, including "All Day / Everyday (Is Halloween)" which became an instant club favorite and would go on to become one of the band's most popular songs.

Jourgensen then signed to Sire/Warner Bros. Records in 1985. Ministry's second album "Twitch" was produced by Adrian Sherwood. The music shifted to a heavy and menacing EBM/electro sound. The third album "The Land Of Rape And Honey" (1988) was a revolution, with the arrival of Paul Barker and other new members Ministry started to play a crossover between EBM, industrial and heavy metal. The formula was perfected with the following "The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste" (1990), where the rock elements became more relevant. Ministry's masterpiece is considered "ΚΕΦΑΛΗΞΘ" (1992), a very dark, powerful and violent album, where the band experiments a wide range of combining thrash metal with techno, industrial and noise. The following records "Filth Pig" (1996) and "Dark Side Of The Spoon" (1999) return to the band's roots slightly in terms of song arrangement and vocal styling. These albums did not sell well in comparison with their earlier material. The band released their first best of collection entitled "Greatest Fits" (2001) and were then dropped by Warner Bros. Records.

The band then moved to Sanctuary Records and released "Animositisomina" (2003). Paul Barker left the band in January 2004, leaving Al to put together a new line-up for "Houses Of The Molé". After 2004 Evil Doer Tour few members left and new ones came - besides Al Jourgensen & Mike Scaccia, other members included Prong members Tommy Victor on guitar and Paul Raven on bass. The band started to work on new album, which finally came out in May 2006 titled "Rio Grande Blood". It was soon followed with what originally was to be Ministry's final album, "The Last Sucker", released in 2007, and a collection of covers entitled "Cover Up" in 2008.

Despite Jourgensen's claim that the band was over, 2010 saw another collection, mixing covers and remixes, entitled "Undercover". Following a serious illness, Al Jourgensen decided to restart the band with Mike Scaccia and two new Ministry albums followed, "Relapse" in 2012 and "From Beer To Eternity" 2013. However, Scaccia's death in 2012 has apparently brought a final, definite end to the band.

Ministry Discography


ATC 6608 Ministry With Sympathy (Album) Arista ATC 6608 US 1983 Sell This Version
92 53094 Ministry Twitch (Album) Sire, Sire 92 53094 Canada 1986 Sell This Version
M925799-2 Ministry The Land Of Rape And Honey (Album) Sire M925799-2 Brazil 1988 Sell This Version
W4-26004 Ministry The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste (Album) Sire, Warner Bros. Records W4-26004 US 1989 Sell This Version
7599-26266-2 Ministry In Case You Didn't Feel Like Showing Up (Live) (Album, MiniAlbum) Sire, Warner Bros. Records 7599-26266-2 Germany 1990 Sell This Version
92 67274 Ministry ΚΕΦΑΛΗΞΘ (Album) Sire, Warner Bros. Records 92 67274 Canada 1992 Sell This Version
45838 Ministry Filth Pig (Album) Warner Bros. Records 45838 US 1995 Sell This Version
PROP05041, 9362-47311-2 Ministry Dark Side Of The Spoon (Album, Single) Warner Bros. Records PROP05041, 9362-47311-2 Germany 1999 Sell This Version
0927474972 Ministry Sphinctour (Album) Sanctuary Records 0927474972 Australia 2002 Sell This Version
284543-2 Ministry Animositisomina (Album) Sanctuary Records 284543-2 US 2003 Sell This Version
MYNCD023 Ministry Houses Of The Molé (Album) Mayan Records MYNCD023 UK & Europe 2004 Sell This Version
DDCZ-1311 Ministry Rio Grande Blood (Album) 13th Planet Records, Megaforce Records DDCZ-1311 Japan 2006 Sell This Version
THPLI 005 Ministry The Last Sucker (Album) 13th Planet Records THPLI 005 Germany 2007 Sell This Version
THP 004 Ministry Rio Grande Dub Ya (Album) 13th Planet Records THP 004 UK & Europe 2007 Sell This Version
THP 008 Ministry And Co-Conspirators Ministry And Co-Conspirators - Cover Up (Album) 13th Planet Records THP 008 Europe 2008 Sell This Version
020286133728 Ministry The Last Dubber (Album) 13th Planet Records, Megaforce Records 020286133728 US 2009 Sell This Version
02028613253 Ministry Adios... Puta Madres (Album) 13th Planet Records 02028613253 US 2009 Sell This Version
EWO044CD Ministry And Co-Conspirators Ministry And Co-Conspirators - Undercover (Album) 13th Planet Records, Cleopatra EWO044CD UK 2010 Sell This Version
020286154372 Ministry Mixxxes Of The Molé (Album) 13th Planet Records 020286154372 US 2010 Sell This Version
AFM 399-2 Ministry Relapse (Album) AFM Records AFM 399-2 Germany 2012 Sell This Version
none Ministry / Paul Barker Ministry / Paul Barker - Fix (Album) Gigantic Pictures none US 2012 Sell This Version
UDR 0235 DVD, 50999 0 19582 2 5 Ministry Enjoy The Quiet—Live At Wacken 2012 (Album) UDR, EMI UDR 0235 DVD, 50999 0 19582 2 5 UK, Europe & US 2013 Sell This Version
D.I. 310 Ministry From Beer To Eternity (Album) AFM Records D.I. 310 Argentina 2013 Sell This Version
UDR 0350 2CD+DVD Ministry Last Tangle In Paris Live 2012 (Album) UDR, 13th Planet Records UDR 0350 2CD+DVD Germany 2014 Sell This Version
none Ministry Relapse RemiXXX(10xFile, MP3, Album) Not On Label (Ministry Self-released) none 2014

Reviews Show All 8 Reviews

Add Review



May 28, 2013
Ministry - Relapse "Redux" coming soon, Confirmed by Al in an interview i read online. Figured i would throw that out there for those that think there was no more material coming out (Al has stated he is done with Ministry basically)


November 19, 2012
edited over 3 years ago
Al Jourgensen, one of my greatest musical heros of all time who once used to be a blessed songwriter, would definitely have been better off with finally staying retired.
Instead he's once again coming back with another pointless record and even penetrates us with another tour.
But it is just painful to see that old physical wreck crawling on stage and you sincerely hope that his nurse will show up soon and bring him to bed or at least someone would get him a weeled walker. And then you get frightened anytime the bowed old man is breaking safe contact to the microphone stand and tries to overcome the distance to where his glass of wine is standing.
Oh my...
Come on Al! Face it! Time is over!
You should seriously consider moving to a nice and safe nursing home. Sad but true.

And regarding the Relapse album, oh well....
There was some reviewer from the Quietus who summed it up pretty well actually:
"I skipped ahead, listened, shuddered, and skipped ahead again. Rather than waste words, I’ll just say that the remainder of the record is painted in various shades of worse."

Nuff said!


January 26, 2012
edited over 3 years ago


January 21, 2010
edited over 5 years ago
Best Band EVER!!! Al Jourgensen & Paul Baker gave to the Industrial and electronic music a sense of power & passion for music, together with Revco, Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly & NiN....the rest is history...WAX TRAX!!!!


March 2, 2006
edited over 10 years ago
I will continue to recommend this band to new people just starting to listen to industrial. Even if the rock element is left-of-snob for the industrial crowd, Alain J. has the brashish vocals (great design on the vocals BTW), craziest, hardest drums you'll ever hear without being picky to the metal genre, and they're open to using samplers, synths, original freeflow time signatures and breaks. Pick up Psalm 69, Land Of Rape and Honey, or The Mind is a Beautiful Thing to Taste'll get it.

Lists Add to List

Videos (121) Edit