Faith No More

Faith No More

Faith No More was formed after the breakup of Faith. No Man.. They underwent several lineup changes including a period of where they would play 'open mic' shows where they'd invite people to take on vocal duties. Courtney Love and Paula Frazer were two of the temporary vocalists which occasioned the mic at these shows.

Finally they settled on Chuck Mosley (Vocals), Roddy Bottum (Keyboards), Billy Gould (Bass Guitar), Mike Bordin (drums) and Jim Martin (Guitar). They released their debut album 'We Care A Lot' on Mordam Records in 1985.

They were signed to Slash Records and released Introduce Yourself in 1987. This album spawned their first hit We Care A lot. Due to tensions within the band Chuck Mosley was fired prior to the recording of their third studio album The Real Thing. Mosley was replaced by Mike Patton.

The Real Thing was released in 1989 to critical and commercial acclaim. It featured another rock/rap hit called 'Epic' plus a string of other minor hit singles. 'The Real Thing' was the first album by the band to achieve platinum sales figures in the US.

Their fourth studio album 'Angel Dust' the second with new vocalist Mike Patton. The album met critical success and is often deemed their most important record. It is often cited as the album which gave birth to Nu-Metal. This album’s darker themes; frequent genre changes Patton's maturation and vocal versatility was a drastic shift in artistic direction and saw another rift open, often publically between the band and guitarist Jim Martin. Jim Martin was sacked via fax following the 'Angel Dust' tour in late 1993.

In 1995 after auditioning several guitarists including Killing Joke's Geordie Walker, the band hired Mr. Bungle guitarist Trey Spruance and recorded 'King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime'. Trey Spruance completed the record but made it clear that touring the record would not be possible. The band hired Dean Menta to fill in for the tour. The album had a mixed critical response which was followed by lukewarm album sales which led to the cancellation of part of their 1995 European tour.

During the writing for 'Album Of The Year' the band replaced Dean Menta with Billy Gould's former room-mate Jon Hudson. Hudson was heavily involved in the writing of the album, helping with all three of the released singles from 'Album of The Year'. The album was received well both critically and commercially compared to 'King For A Day' but it became clear that due to conflicting side projects that Faith No More would either have to end or be put on hiatus. With Mike Bordin joining Black Sabbath, Mike Patton committed to Mr. Bungle for the foreseeable future and Roddy Bottum moonlighting with Imperial Teen the band chose to split amid weeks of rumour and speculation. The announcement was made by Billy Gould via email on April 20th 1998.

On February 24, 2009 the band announced their reunion as a touring entity. Between 2011 and in 2014 they played three new songs. In September 2014 they announced that a Warner Bros. agreed to formally end their recording contract which allowed them to launch their new label Reclamation! Recordings which would release a new single in November 2014 and an album in April 2015.

Faith No More Discography


none Faith. No More.* Faith. No More.(Cass) Not On Label (Faith No More Self-released) none US 1983 Sell This Version
none Faith. No More.* Faith. No More.(Cass) Not On Label (Faith No More Self-released) none US 1984 Sell This Version
MDR 1 Faith No More We Care A Lot (Album) Mordam Records MDR 1 Europe 1985 Sell This Version
W4 25559 Faith No More Introduce Yourself (Album) Slash, Slash W4 25559 Canada 1987 Sell This Version
828 154-2 Faith No More The Real Thing (Album) Slash, London Records 828 154-2 Brazil 1989 Sell This Version
082 534-3 Faith No More Live At The Brixton Academy (Album) Slash, London Records 082 534-3 UK 1990 Sell This Version
9 26785-2 Faith No More Angel Dust (Album) Slash, London Records 9 26785-2 US 1992 Sell This Version
none Faith No More King For A Day Fool For A Lifetime (Album, Comp) Slash, London Records none US 1994 Sell This Version
TCD 1020 Faith No More In Concert - 648 Featuring Faith No More (Phoenix Festival 1995)(CD, Transcription) BBC Radio International, BBC World Service TCD 1020 UK 1995 Sell This Version
EVANS-9 Faith No More F.N.M. Interview (Open Ended Interview)(CD, Promo) London Records EVANS-9 UK 1995 Sell This Version
828 902-2 Faith No More Album Of The Year (Album) Slash, London Records 828 902-2 Australasia 1997 Sell This Version
IC 0740 Faith No More In Concert 740(CD, Promo, Transcription) BBC Radio International IC 0740 UK 1998 Sell This Version
VMCD119, none Faith No More Sol Invictus (Album) Reclamation! Recordings, Ipecac Recordings VMCD119, none Brazil 2015 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

PRO-A-2823 Faith No More Chinese Arithmetic(12", Promo) Slash PRO-A-2823 US 1987 Sell This Version
LASHX 18, 886 278-1 Faith No More Anne's Song (Single) Slash, London Records, London American Recordings LASHX 18, 886 278-1 UK 1988 Sell This Version
7-28287 Faith No More We Care A Lot (Single, Maxi, EP) Slash, London Records, London American Recordings 7-28287 US 1987 Sell This Version
LASHX 19, 886-663-1 Faith No More From Out Of Nowhere (Single) Slash, London Records LASHX 19, 886-663-1 UK 1989 Sell This Version
AS 5000 837 The Cure / Faith No More The Cure / Faith No More - Pictures Of You / From Out Of Nowhere(7", Jukebox, Promo) Polygram AS 5000 837 Italy 1989 Sell This Version
LASH 21 Faith No More Epic (Single, EP) Slash, London Records LASH 21 UK 1989 Sell This Version
K10139 Faith No More Epic / The Morning After (Single) Liberation Records, Slash K10139 Australia 1990 Sell This Version
LASCS 25, 869060.4 Faith No More Falling To Pieces (Single) Slash, London Records LASCS 25, 869060.4 UK 1990 Sell This Version
2801 465 The Soup Dragons / Faith No More The Soup Dragons / Faith No More - I'm Free / Epic(12", Promo) Polydor 2801 465 Brazil 1990 Sell This Version
AS 5000 853 Elton John / Faith No More Elton John / Faith No More - Club At The End Of The Street / Epic(7", Jukebox, Promo) Polygram AS 5000 853 Italy 1990 Sell This Version
869 358-7 Faith No More We Care A Lot (Single) Slash, London Records 869 358-7 Europe 1991 Sell This Version
2801 502 Faith No More Edge Of The World(12", Promo) London Records 2801 502 Brazil 1991 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



June 15, 2016
Faith No More is for me, one of the most overrated band in the history of rock music. Something like The Police,The Smiths. They mixed some styles but...for what?

Videos (93) Edit