Cold Sun

Cold Sun

An obscure but legendary psychedelic progressive outfit COLD SUN, based on Austin, Texas, had been active for only a few years around 1970. Bill MILLER (autoharps, voices), who was a freak of 13th Floor Elevators and later known as one of backing members of Roky Erickson, formed a psychedelic rock band COULDRON with his mate Tom McGARRIGLE (guitar) in 1968. Soon they changed the name into AMETHYST and appeared on stage of LL Club, a psychedelic club in Austin, as a follower of Elevators. Since then Bill had gotten to play autoharps, one of key instruments for psychedelic rock, with some eccentric chords amplified.

In 1969, AMETHYST recruited Mike WAUGH (bass), who could take John Ike WALTON (drums, percussion), one of the members of early Elevators. They signed with an independent record label Sonobeat, that were familiar with John, with their band name changed into COLD SUN. Their one and only album 'Dark Shadows' was recorded during 1970, with a new drummer Hugh PATTON instead of John, but what a pity COLD SUN could not release this album then for the sake of Sonobeat's bankruptcy, and they broke up in 1973 like the sunset.

Members are:
- Billy Miller - Lead Vocals, Autoharp, song writing
- Tom Mcgarrigle - Lead Guitar, backing vocals,
- Mike Waugh - Bass, backing vocals,
- High Patton - Drums


Cold Sun Discography Tracks


Cold Sun Dark Shadows (Album, EP) Rockadelic Records US 1993 Sell This Version

Videos (1) Edit