Atlantis Philharmonic

Atlantis Philharmonic

Real Name:
Atlantis Philharmonic
Cleveland, Ohio 1970-6
ATLANTIS PHILHARMONIC is a Progressive Rock band formed in Cleveland, OH in 1971. Their first and only self-titled album was released on "Deutsche Harmonia Mundi" in 1974 and presented unique blend of classic Art-Rock, Sympho-Prog, Hard-Rock, and Psychedelic-Pop elements. It was recorded as a duo, but ATLANTIS PHILHARMONIC made their mark as a trio featuring:
Joe DiFazio (keyboards, guitar, and vocals) who was the major driving force composing and writing lyrics. With an extensive background in classical music, his experience ranged from baroque, classical, romantic, and modern styles of music.
Royce Gibson (drums, percussion) who commanded a variety of instruments and added a unique facet that provided a symphonic dimension to the group's sound.
Roger Lewis (guitars), a former member of FREEPORT who joined the band in late 1974, following the production of the group's self-titled debut album. His guitar playing brought a new light on the group's original compositions.
During their short career ATLANTIS PHILHARMONIC performed with such acts as Styx, King Crimson, Glass Harp, Hello People, Wishbone Ash, Raspberries, Muddy Waters, and Tim Buckley. Their music has been called "picturesque" and has earned them the respect of an ever growing audience. The lush keyboard arrangements, intricate compositions, original mixture of styles, definite sound, and excellent vocal performance have placed this band among the best acts of the US Progressive Rock scene of the 70's.


Atlantis Philharmonic Discography Tracks


Atlantis Philharmonic Atlantis Philharmonic (Album) Dharma Records (4) US 1974 Sell This Version