Sonic Youth

Sonic Youth

Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time. This view has been added to by the strength of their record "Sonic Nurse", which also featured the talents of Jim O'Rourke. O'Rourke left the band in 2005. In 2006, Mark Ibold joined the group.

In September 2012, Sonic Youth went on "indefinite hiatus" following the separation of Kim Gordon and Thurston Moore (the couple had been married since 1984).

Sonic Youth Discography


N-ONE Sonic Youth Sonic Youth (Album) Neutral Records (3) N-ONE US 1982 Sell This Version
n.9, neutral nine Sonic Youth Confusion Is Sex (Album) Neutral Records (3), Neutral Records (3) n.9, neutral nine US 1983 Sell This Version
E#2 Sonic-Youth* Sonic-Death Sonic-Youth Live (Album) Ecstatic Peace! E#2 US 1984 Sell This Version
HMS016C Sonic Youth Bad Moon Rising (Album) Blast First, Homestead Records HMS016C US 1985 Sell This Version
NOT 1 (BUT 2) Sonic Youth Walls Have Ears Not NOT 1 (BUT 2) UK 1986 Sell This Version
BFFP 4 Sonic Youth EVOL (Album) SST Records BFFP 4 UK 1986 Sell This Version
BFFP 20 Sonic Youth Sister (Album) SST Records BFFP 20 UK 1987 Sell This Version
CHAT1 Sonic Youth "Sister" Interview Disc(LP) Blast First CHAT1 UK 1987 Sell This Version
Di Di 145, DI DI 145, BFFP 34 Sonic Youth Daydream Nation (Album) Enigma Records (3), Blast First Di Di 145, DI DI 145, BFFP 34 Greece 1988 Sell This Version
9 24297-D2 Sonic Youth Goo (Album) DGC 9 24297-D2 US 1990 Sell This Version
SY 1301 Sonic Youth Goo Demos(CD) Sonic Death SY 1301 US 1991 Sell This Version
GOO-02, goo two Sonic Youth Hold That Tiger Goofin' Records, Goofin' Records GOO-02, goo two US 1991 Sell This Version
GED24485, DGCD24485 Sonic Youth Dirty (Album, Single, Comp) DGC GED24485, DGCD24485 Europe 1992 Sell This Version
SY 1302, #1302 Sonic Youth Live At The Continental Club(CD, Album) Sonic Death, Sonic Death SY 1302, #1302 US 1992 Sell This Version
L4GEF (N) 24632 Sonic Youth Experimental Jet Set, Trash And No Star (Album) DGC L4GEF (N) 24632 South Africa 1994 Sell This Version
none Sonic Youth Live In Bremen(LP, Pic, Num) Not On Label (Sonic Youth) none 1994 Sell This Version
GEFC-24825 Sonic Youth Washing Machine (Album, Comp) DGC GEFC-24825 Thailand 1995 Sell This Version
8122-71591-2 Sonic Youth Made In USA (Album) Rhino Records (2) 8122-71591-2 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
03, #21 Sonic Youth Live Venlo, Holland 12.27.83 Sonic Death 03, #21 US 1995 Sell This Version
MLR 001 95 Sonic Youth Blastic Scene(CD, Ltd) Moneyland Records MLR 001 95 Portugal 1995 Sell This Version
none Sonic Youth A Thousand Leaves (Album) DGC none UK 1998 Sell This Version
SYR 4 Sonic Youth Goodbye 20th Century (Album) Sonic Youth Records SYR 4 US 1999 Sell This Version
none Sonic Youth NYC Ghosts & Flowers (Album) Geffen Records none 2000 Sell This Version
606949331948 Sonic Youth Murray Street (Album) DGC 606949331948 Thailand 2002 Sell This Version
UICF-1024 Sonic Youth Sonic Nurse (Album) DGC UICF-1024 Japan 2004 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



July 25, 2016
edited 2 days ago
had to sell all theyr records after seeing the tall foxy (...) guy in every single documentary about 80's music.. not worth much.. did they really discover art ? anyway, I can understand art students like them, guess they are "cool"


August 8, 2015
edited 11 months ago
Sonic Youth is something "PURE & ORIGINAL" in rock idiom. Sonic Youth is something unique. Sonic Youth has CHARACTER & ATTITUDE. Sonic Youth for alternative rock is like Motorhead for hard rock n roll music. Their music is simple & complex at the same time. They changed listener's & musician's status wordwide. Also they re from Big Apple.....RESPECT!


March 26, 2011
edited over 5 years ago
Sonic Youth pioneered a new approach to making music, a fusion of post punk and art rock that focused more on the music and the moods created by it, rather than a traditional verse/chorus arrangement. This can be powerful (Joni/Daydream Nation) and beautiful (Beauty Lies in the Eye/Sister) in equal measure.

The band began using non-traditional guitar tunings and methods to produce an awe-inspiring sound that had never been heard before. On Confusion is Sex, this sounds very raw, but by Sister, this sound had been perfected. For me, Sister is the band's peak. The epic Daydream Nation that followed is often hailed as their best, but nothing comes close to the sheer experimentation that resulted in Cotton Crown (Sister).

By Goo, the band had moved to the David Geffen label and perhaps due to the pressure of following up on Daydream Nation, the album sounds over produced and stifled, lacking the creative energy of their earlier releases. This was recaptured to some extent on Dirty, however the band moved away from their sonic experimentation roots to a new, more commercial sound from here on in.

I would list them as the most creative band since Pink Floyd by a mile. Sister and Daydream Nation are works of true genius.


January 1, 2011
edited over 5 years ago
Very underrated band in my opinion. Consistent with the high quality of their releases over such a long span.

I notice they're even widely unknown to people who actually care about indie / alternative rock and go to a lot of gigs, listening to Bloc Party, Maximo Park and the like (well, at least a few years back - you get the picture), for example, which seems unfair.


February 13, 2006
edited over 10 years ago
Who would've thought that 20 years down the road SY will still be playing music and moreover will be featured in cartoons ?
But it is happening, despite the fact that they're were one of the most abrasive bands around in the 80's and even though they lessened a volume little bit by now, it still holds true to some extent. Of course, its not always hits in case of SY and there are plenty of misses in my humble opinion, but still...
They put "noise" in "noise rock" and did almost inevitable - forced masses to appreciate loud and filthy distorted sound, as opposed to traditional pop/rock wankery.

Lists Add to List

Videos (121) Edit