Alain_Patrick

Stevie Wonder as reviewed by Alain_Patrick

March 31, 2019
“There are many songs in Stevie's archives, to this day, that haven't been released. I hope he has sought to preserve his archive as tape degrades over time. Despite good storgage techniques, all the particles are trying to face North. Sooner or later they will. Also, binders and backing will degrade and they will turn to dust. I hope and pray that he has digitized his entire library.” — Robert Margouleff, creator of The Original New Timbral Orchestra, used on Stevie’s greatest 70s albums
james-t

Stevie Wonder james-t

December 19, 2018
What happens if a release has two different record labels. In the singles chart is it treated separate as a new entry.
legionsofvinyl

Stevie Wonder legionsofvinyl

February 8, 2017
Hi
anyone ever seen a stevie ep in yellow vinyl. It seems its the extra ep from songs in the key of life (nederlands press) however cant get any further info on it.
any information good be great

_digger

Stevie Wonder _digger

April 12, 2017
The 7" with mine is labelled correctly. I Looked this 'gold' gatefold and extra 7" (all issues were 3x wax inc. 7") up on here years ago and it seems there are lots of different editions for Europe, I would call mine 'translucent orange'.
cheryobaby

Stevie Wonder cheryobaby

February 11, 2017
it was also pressed with the b side label pressed on both sides.
cheryobaby

Stevie Wonder cheryobaby

February 11, 2017
hi
it was a freebie with the dutch version of the songs in the key of life double album.
the two albums were also pressed on yellow vinyl as well.
the catalogue numbers is Motown ‎– 5C 158-97900/1.
i hope this helps
humanagain

Stevie Wonder humanagain

November 12, 2015
From 72-79 imo there wasn't anyone in any genre who was close to the greatness that Stevie was producing.
eddie69

Stevie Wonder eddie69

April 4, 2019
My bad, it was '75....Rhymin' Simon won for "Still Crazy After All These Years" which was released in 1975, the year Stevie was working on "Songs In The Key Of Life".
eddie69

Stevie Wonder eddie69

April 4, 2019
Lol That's why Paul Simon thanked him at the Grammy's for not releasing an album in '76 :)
desertislandmixtape

Stevie Wonder desertislandmixtape

May 13, 2014
If you had to listen to only one Stevie Wonder song for the rest of your life, what would it be? This is the premise of my music blog, Desert Island Mixtape. Each month we choose a new artist and pose the same question. I then share the results with high school students in hopes that they are inspired to learn more about older musicians. Fill out the Stevie Wonder survey below if you would like to help us:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1vom-6wnxW2N3I0DZB-EXcYM9i2v353JZrPG244yGwS0/viewform?usp=send_form
Apeman

Stevie Wonder as reviewed by Apeman

December 24, 2008
Stevie Wonder is possibly the only person in the 20th and 21st century world, that I would consider a musical genius. He has never seen anything in his life, and he can perform so many instruments perfectly and sing 99.9% better than every other musician on the planet.

I saw him live in Manchester a few months ago, and was the greatest gig I have ever been to in my life, and what a nice person he is too.
DJCory023

Stevie Wonder as reviewed by DJCory023

March 14, 2006
edited over 9 years ago
The above comments pay tribute to Stevie perfectly; what more can be said? The guy plays nearly every instrument imaginable with affinity and performs and records with such an uncanny ardor -- such a love and passion for music. While some songs like "I was Made to Love Her" and "Superstitious" are irresistibly soulful tunes, Wonder had a knack for contrasting this pace with melancholic masterpieces like "Blame It on the Sun" or "A Place in the Sun." Even his 80s era was highly regarded and respected. I shouldn't even begin compiling a list of favorites; there are just too many.
Hands down, one of the greatest recording artists of all time. He's got my respect forever.
manchester

Stevie Wonder as reviewed by manchester

September 25, 2005
edited over 6 years ago
What can one say about Stevie that already hasn't been recited? The words/phrases 'genius', 'God given talent', 'from a different planet', 'Soul music legend' etc all seem appropriate. The guy has been singing for so long right back to the early days of Motown as a child prodigy, up to the present. Although many younger people remember or associate Stevie with his music from the 80s, which was all very accessible and commerical music, his real creative peak and genius came to the fore during the 70s. His three albums in particular 'Innervisions', 'Fulfillingness First Finale' and 'Songs in the Key of Life' are landmark albums in Black music, Soul Music and any genre for that matter of popular music. The guy can play (& does on most of these albums) any instrument, he writes, he produces, he sings... He's just an awesome talent and either (or all) of these 3 albums would be in most self-respecting critics top 100 albums of all time. Music that is timeless, inspiring and legendary. RESPECT and then some!