Amon Düül II

Amon Düül II

Amon Düül II was born of an artistic and political community’s scission called Amon Düül (who recorded during the late sixties a long live session made around collective and free musical improvisations). The band emerged from the underground German rock scene with a very original and eccentric album called "Phallus Dei" (1969). The musicians who participated to this delirious and psychedelic experience were (among others) Peter Leopold (ex Amon Düül), the front woman and singer Renate Knaup, John Weinzierl on the guitars... with guests as Holger Trützsch who plays tribal percussions (original member of Popol Vuh). Then almost with the same musicians the band recorded the seminal "Yeti" (1970). An album in a similar vein than the previous but more accomplished (with a couple of structured songs always with numerous pieces of epic improvisations). "Yeti" will launch Amon Düül II career outside Germany. The same year the bass guitarist Dave Anderson leaves the band to join Hawkwind.

"Tanz Der Lemminge" which follows directly "Yeti" is an impressive work with a great diversity of powerful, emotional songs with some folk accents next to long free space jamming. Recorded in 1972, "Carnival in Babylon" announces a slight new musical direction taken by the band. This album is dominated by shorter songs with the omnipresent and beautiful Renate Knaup’s vocals. A more conventional work with a few memorable prog-folk ballads. The classical period of the band will end with "Wolf City" (1972) and "Vive La Trance" (1973). After the departure of Renate Knaup who joins Popol Vuh in 1974 and the release of a few albums, Amon Düül II split up. In 1981, with the album "Vortex" Chris Karrer tried without success to reform the band.

Amon Düül II Discography


LBS 83279 Amon Düül II Phallus Dei (Album) Liberty LBS 83279 UK 1969 Sell This Version
LSP 101 Amon Düül II Yeti (Album) Liberty LSP 101 UK 1970 Sell This Version
UAD 60003/4 Amon Düül II Tanz Der Lemminge (Album) Liberty UAD 60003/4 UK 1971 Sell This Version
K 0983 Amon Düül II Wolf City (Album) United Artists Records, United Artists Records K 0983 Germany 1972 Sell This Version
UAG29327 Amon Düül II Carnival In Babylon (Album) United Artists Records UAG29327 UK 1972 Sell This Version
6.24851 Amon Düül II Live In London (Album) United Artists Records 6.24851 Germany 1973 Sell This Version
LLP-80961 Amon Düül II Vive La Trance (Album) United Artists Records, United Artists Records LLP-80961 Japan 1973 Sell This Version
SD 36-108 Amon Düül II Hijack (Album) Nova (6), Nova (6) SD 36-108 US 1974 Sell This Version
SD 36-119 Amon Düül II Made In Germany (Album) Nova (6) SD 36-119 Canada 1975 Sell This Version
HXS 001-49 Amon Düül II Pyragony X (Album) Nova (6), Nova (6) HXS 001-49 Spain 1976 Sell This Version
6.23305, 6.23 305 Amon Düül II Almost Alive... (Album) Nova (6), Nova (6) 6.23305, 6.23 305 Germany 1977 Sell This Version
LV 1004 Amon Düül II Only Human (Album) Strand LV 1004 Canada 1978 Sell This Version
6.24874, 6.24874 AS Amon Düül II Vortex (Album) Telefunken, Telefunken 6.24874, 6.24874 AS Germany 1981 Sell This Version
6.24852 AP Amon Düül II Utopia (Album) Telefunken 6.24852 AP Germany 1982 Sell This Version
WIN CD 027 Amon Düül II BBC Radio 1 Live In Concert Plus (Album) Windsong International WIN CD 027 UK 1992 Sell This Version
30562 Amon Düül 2* Nada Moonshine # (Album) Schneeball 30562 Germany 1995 Sell This Version
CTCD-047 Amon Düül 2* Live In Tokio (Album) Captain Trip Records CTCD-047 Japan 1996 Sell This Version
CTCD-039 Amon Düül II Kobe (Reconstructions)(CD, Album) Captain Trip Records CTCD-039 Japan 1996 Sell This Version
CTCD-041 Amon Düül 2* Eternal Flashback(CD, Album) Captain Trip Records CTCD-041 Japan 1996 Sell This Version
none Amon Düül II Bee As Such (Album) Not On Label (Amon Düül II Self-released) none Germany 2010 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

56196 Amon Düül II Archangels Thunderbird / (Excerpt From) Soap Shop Rock (Single) Liberty, Liberty 56196 US 1970 Sell This Version
15 417 Amon Düül II Rattlesnakeplumcake / Between The Eyes(7", Single) Liberty 15 417 Germany 1970 Sell This Version
LBF 15355, LBF 15354 Amon Düül II / Creedence Clearwater Revival Amon Düül II / Creedence Clearwater Revival - Archangel's Thunderbird / Run Through The Jungle(7", Single) Liberty, Liberty LBF 15355, LBF 15354 UK 1970 Sell This Version
15468, 15 468 Amon Düül II Light • Lemmingmania(7", Single) Liberty, Liberty 15468, 15 468 Germany 1971 Sell This Version
35 338 Amon Düül II All The Years Round / The Tables Are Turned(7", Single) United Artists Records 35 338 Germany 1972 Sell This Version