Lake Trout

Lake Trout are a rock band based in Baltimore. Their music is a combination of rock, ambient, jazz, and many other styles, including influences from post-rock and post-punk. The band has released six albums since its inception, four in-studio and two live. Their most recent album entitled "Live" was released in December 2008.

Lake Trout consists of:
* James Griffith, bass, guitar, vocals
* Ed Harris, guitar, bass, vocals
* Mike Lowry, drums
* Matt Pierce, keyboards, saxophone, flute, vocals
* Woody Ranere, lead vocals and guitar

Lake Trout first came together in 1994. Their first album is self-titled and consists of eight songs with a heavy dose of jazz. It was released independently in 1997. The band's second album, released in 1998, is also on SNS Records. Volume for the Rest of It consists of 16 tracks total and has a more developed feel.

Lake Trout's third album, Alone at Last - Live with DJ Who is a live album and was recorded on December 9, 1999 at Traxx in Charlottesville, Virginia. It was released by Phoenix Rising Records. This album, as would be expected with the addition of a DJ, has a much more electronic sound. It has a slightly darker feel than the previous two records and incorporates elements of drum and bass music into the sound.
With the release of their fourth album, Another One Lost (2003, released by Palm/RX Records), the band made a decided shift towards a more indie rock-oriented sound. The relationship between the "new sound" and the "old sound" is clearly evident, but the shift is obvious. Some fans lament this change in the band's sound, preferring the more jazz-oriented earlier work. Many enjoy the change, however, seeing a clear progression in the band's sound.

On September 13, 2005, the band released their most recent album, Not Them, You on Palm/RX Records. This album continues with the evolution of the "new sound."

In December 2008, the band released a live album containing songs from the groups live set that had not been previously recorded as well as select songs from the most recent two studio albums.

Lake Trout Discography Tracks


none Lake Trout - Lake Trout album art Lake Trout Lake Trout(CD, Album) Not On Label (Lake Trout Self-released) none US 1997 Sell This Version
SNSCD002 Lake Trout - Volume For The Rest Of It album art Lake Trout Volume For The Rest Of It(CD, Album) SNS Records SNSCD002 US 1998 Sell This Version
3006 Lake Trout - Alone At Last album art Lake Trout With DJ Who Lake Trout With DJ Who - Alone At Last(CD, Album) Phoenix Music 3006 US 2000 Sell This Version
Lake Trout - Another One Lost album art Lake Trout Another One Lost (Album) Lake Trout Records US 2002 Sell This Version
Lake Trout - Not Them, You album art Lake Trout Not Them, You (Album) RX Records, Palm Pictures US 2005 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

SNS-7-1001 Lake Trout On My Way To Work(7", Ltd, Red) Shaken Not Stirred SNS-7-1001 US 1998 Sell This Version
none Lake Trout, The Whodlums Lake Trout, The Whodlums - On My Way To Work / Shamans Drum(10", TP) Shaken Not Stirred none US 1998 Sell This Version
SNSTRAX005 Lake Trout Sounds From Below (Charles Dockins Mix)(12", Promo) Shaken Not Stirred SNSTRAX005 US 1999 Sell This Version
RX78010 Lake Trout - Street Fighting Man album art Lake Trout Street Fighting Man(7", Single, Cle) RX Records RX78010 US 2005 Sell This Version
RX78012 Lake Trout - I Riddle album art Lake Trout I Riddle(7") RX Records RX78012 UK 2005 Sell This Version
none Lake Trout E.P.(CDr, EP, Promo) Palm Pictures, RX Records none UK Unknown Sell This Version
SNSTRAX004 Lake Trout - Sounds From Below (The Memnon Mixes) album art Lake Trout Sounds From Below (The Memnon Mixes)(12", Promo) Shaken Not Stirred SNSTRAX004 US Unknown Sell This Version

Videos (3) Edit