Started in 2007 as a spastic punk band by Vincent Presley and Lacey Smith immediately after their experimental noise rock band, Window Smashers broke up. Originally a four piece but their bass player soon quit, forcing the Moogs and octave pedals to handle all low frequencies. The three piece version of Zebras toured the states many times through the next couple years for their debut EP, Parasitic Clones Under The Strong Arm Of The Robotic Machine and recorded another batch of songs in 2009 before parting ways with their drummer. After a year off VP and LS recruited two members of Milwaukee noise punk band, IFIHADAHIFI to cover drums and additional synth noises. After one tour and one recorded song the band again switched members, this time picking up Shane Hochstettler (Call Me Lightning, Multiple Truths, Managra, Haymarket Riot, etc) on drums and dropping back down to a three piece. With this change in members and all new gear the band changed direction from spastic punk to a more heavy, doom, metal punk sound. In 2012 the first batch of songs with the current lineup were released on an LP backed with the unreleased 2009 recordings on the flip side. The album was released to very positive reviews in the states and overseas. In 2014 Zebras changed styles and all their gear again and this time were compared to early crossover thrash. The album City Of Sun was released in 2015 and was often compared to Slayer and DRI. After two years of playing these songs live the band went on indefinite hiatus. Zebras have played with D.R.I., Die Kreuzen, Jello Biafra, Black Flag, Negative Approach, High On Fire, Goatwhore, Skeleton Witch, Melt Banana, Kenmode, Sumac, Old Man Gloom, etc, as well as bands like Deerhoof, Old Time Relijun, Blind Shake, Birthday Suits, etc.


Zebras Discography Tracks

SR10 Zebras - Everything album art Zebras Everything(LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Blu + Flexi, 7", Single, Red ) Secret Records (9) SR10 US 2017 Sell This Version

Videos (11) Edit